need help with new co2 canister
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Local Pet Stores, Clubs, and Conventions > New York


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 09:19 PM   #1
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

need help with new co2 canister


Hi Everyone.
Im ready to switch over from my old co2 canister to the new one. I received the new one a few weeks back and didnt pay much attention to it until today when the old one ran out.. The problem Im having is I know how to disconnect the old one from the regulator but have no idea how Im supposed to connect the new one when it has a turner on the top when the old canister just a place to place the reg. Here are a cpl of pix hopefully that will help you figure what Im trying to say. The new canister is the aluminum one.
thanks
patrick
Attached Images
File Type: jpg co2 help 001.jpg (36.5 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg co2 help 002.jpg (42.7 KB, 3 views)
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2011, 10:28 PM   #2
mach_six
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North NJ
Posts: 655
Default

The regulator attaches to teh valve opening on the right side of your picture.

remove the blue adapter from the regulator to screw it on.

Unlike the paintball tank, the valve on top can open and close the tank.
mach_six is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 10:43 PM   #3
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

The regulator will be mounted 90 degrees from the current setup (horizontal vs. vertical). The new cylinder should have come with a nylon or compressed paper washer. If it didn't, you should be able to use the old one - just make sure you torque the heck out of the nut. Make sure the working pressure (if the reg is not preset) is at zero (the knob on the front of the regulator should be turned all the way COUNTER-CLOCKWISE). open the valve on the cylinder *slowly* plug in the solenoid, and begin slowly increasing working pressure (turning the regulator knob CLOCKWISE).

And if all you're asking for is how to physically connect the new cylinder, then mach is correct - just remove the blue adapter, make sure there's a washer in place, and crank down on it.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 10:55 PM   #4
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

thanks Mach and Kev
ok I have the reg on as you suggested. Now do I turn the black knob on ll the way
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 10:58 PM   #5
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

Doesn't have to be all the way. A single full turn should have the same effect. But it doesn't matter.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 11:01 PM   #6
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

thanks kevmo here are the pix of the gages
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gage 001.jpg (90.7 KB, 2 views)
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 11:15 PM   #7
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

Ive had it turned on now for about 10 min and no bubbles?
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 11:29 PM   #8
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

ok now have bubbles
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 11:51 PM   #9
Optix
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Optix's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: derrty south
Posts: 686
Default

working pressure ~40psi seems very high
__________________
ΔΙΡΤ Fraternity, Inc. #33
Optix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 11:53 PM   #10
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

thanks Optix how would I lower it?
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 09:51 AM   #11
Optix
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Optix's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: derrty south
Posts: 686
Default

you would turn the dial on your regulator (most likely counter CW) until the pressure falls

probably to the 15-20psi range...unless you have one of those atomizers on your tank that say they need high working pressure
__________________
ΔΙΡΤ Fraternity, Inc. #33
Optix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 12:35 PM   #12
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

Thanks Optix
I really have no idea if it has a atomizer or not. How would I know? When my co2 comes on today I will try lowering it to see if that works.
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 04:16 PM   #13
Optix
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Optix's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: derrty south
Posts: 686
Default

how are you diffusing water into your tank?

typical diffusers look like:


typical atomizers looks like:


...if that helps

atomizers make micro bubbles that make the water look smoky or like club soda
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b36wNOIm1tg

because the pores in the ceramic stones are significantly smaller, they need a hgher working pressure
__________________
ΔΙΡΤ Fraternity, Inc. #33
Optix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 05:04 PM   #14
partobe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: kew gardens ny
Posts: 838
Default

Im using the top one. I tried lowering it and the pressure stays the same
partobe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 05:24 PM   #15
hbosman
Wannabe Guru
 
hbosman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leesburg Virginia
Posts: 1,594
Default

Does the regulator have a knob on it to adjust working pressure? Some do not and the working pressure would be "fixed" ie...not adjustable.

When you say knob on top, if it's the one on the gas cylinder itself, you don't adjust working pressure with that one.
hbosman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012