Starting a rimless 2.5 gallon
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 11-01-2011, 04:42 AM   #1
YellowDawg
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)

Starting a rimless 2.5 gallon

Hello all, this is my first post on The Planted Tank. Long time lurker, first time poster.
I have a currently unoccupied 2.5 gallon that I plan on making into a rimless iwagumi/heavily planted shrimp tank. I'd like advice on EVERYTHING:
-Nano filter
-Lighting
-CO2(DIY?)
-Substrate
-And, last but not least, shrimp!
As a noob I'd appreciate your advice and opinions.
YellowDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-01-2011, 03:11 PM   #2
Newman
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)

try dry starting the iwagumi first. it will give you tons of time to research the other things.
lighting can be as easy as a 13W daylight CFL bulb or more intense like an archea fixture.

if you want this to be a higher tech tank, since you will likely use high light, i recommend you get a paintball CO2 system, they sell it for planted setups on various aquarium supply websites. You could start with DIY CO2 but you must be very dedicated in changing the reactor regularly; otherwise you'll end with cO2 fluctuations and a huge algae mess. the paintball CO2 is just easier and faster to replace i guess.

For substrate the easy way is to just use one substrate that is formulated for plants like eco-complete, or amazonia aquasoil.