Substrate Swap
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2011, 03:36 PM   #1
megamax42
Algae Grower
 
megamax42's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 85
Default

Substrate Swap


Hello! Newbie to plantedtank.net, but not to aquariums or forums though.
Nice to meet you all!

Well, down to business, I've finally had it with the playsand substrate.

After a large tank re-scape due to finally getting rid of BGA a sudden bloom of Diatoms came.
Coating the plants and glass, and the initial diatoms were tough! They really took some work to scrub off.

After about a solid week of the diatoms increasing they finally started to diminish. It has been about 3-4 days since that turning point and it's gradually retreating.

I'm putting almost full responsibility on the substrate. I know playsand is either silicate based or carbonate based and since my pH is normal it must be Silicate based. Despite washing the sand 1.5 gallons at a time, and 10 rinses for each 1.5 gallons, the substrate was still dirty. Only under the surface however. I'm assuming this is because the sand leeching on top can disperse silicates throughout the water column, whereas leeching in the sand bed just stays under there.

Anyways, every time I uprooted a plant there would be some cloudy water pulled up with it (stark white cloudy, not creamy/brown cloudy say from mulm/decaying matter) and this same cloudiness would appear if I stuck a turkey baster deep in the sand and sucked up water. I'm assuming this cloudiness is the silicates.

My problem is I would like to switch out my substrate with Fluorite Black Sand, however I would like to keep the silicates at a minimal level in the water column.

I only have one idea so far as I have never done this before:
-Start a slow siphon and siphon out the sand.

Also do you think I should leave a little sand in there for the bacteria? And if so then should I reconsider my siphoning plan? And is there anything else I should keep in mind during a substrate swap?

Thanks for reading.
megamax42 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-12-2011, 03:54 PM   #2
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Welcome to TPT!
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/su...substrate.html
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/su...-together.html

threads cover many of the questions and hope they help.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2011, 03:58 PM   #3
ddrfreak_tung
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: las vegas
Posts: 352
Default

If you plan to siphon out the sand, it all depends on how large the tank is, you might run out of water before getting all the sand.

Just scoop out everything if there's no fish or inverts.
If not you could set up a temp tank w the sand n filter while you seed the new tank.
ddrfreak_tung is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2011, 04:07 PM   #4
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Answers from the linked threads.
I use a bunch of 5g buckets.
Remove about 4g of tank water into three or four of them depending on the need.
All the plants into one, fish, driftwood, anything I want to keep wet into the rest.
I run an air stone in each bucket of fish and plants, whether it's needed for the weeds IDK.

I clear a corner down to the glass and siphon out all the water I can get.
Having a small ice scoop I use that for removing the gravel, sand, what ever being careful to stay off the sides not to scratch the tank. Dumping it into dry buckets.
Using an old credit card I push the remaining substrate to center as possible and use the scoop for all I can get.

ShopVac eats the rest LOL

I've done this by choice changing things up.

Changing the substrate keep all the tank materials wet during the swap in tank water. Put everything else back in the tank the day you do the swap to help avoid another cycle.

While doing this do not even wipe off the glass inside the tank, don't clean hoses, heaters, don't clean anything with 'tank slime' on it. Put the fake plants, EVERYTHING back in to maintain as much bio film as possible. Do not clean the filter before or for a week after the substrate change.
Add to top off the tank but don't do a major water change. Changing all the substrate is drastic enough in one day. I re use as much old tank water as I can save.
Hope this makes sense
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2011, 04:16 PM   #5
megamax42
Algae Grower
 
megamax42's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddrfreak_tung View Post
If you plan to siphon out the sand, it all depends on how large the tank is, you might run out of water before getting all the sand.

Just scoop out everything if there's no fish or inverts.
If not you could set up a temp tank w the sand n filter while you seed the new tank.
Thanks for the help!
Unfortunately there are both fish and inverts in the tank. Its a 40 breeder by the way.
I have both a 5 gallon bucket and a 5 gallon Fluval Chi (currently empty), which do you think they would prefer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkndracer View Post
Welcome to TPT!
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/su...substrate.html
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/su...-together.html

threads cover many of the questions and hope they help.
Very useful! I appreciate the help, thanks for posting the answers too.
Leaving everything (the bio-film) as-is sounds like a really good idea, I probably would've tried to clean it since it hasn't been nearly emptied in so long.


One more question: Would a small layer of sand on the bottom be of any benefit or should I just remove it all?
megamax42 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
flourite, sand, substrate, swap

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012