Aqueon 24" T5 Dual Lamp Fixture
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 08:47 AM   #1
R_Barber001
Planted Member
 
R_Barber001's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palmetto Bay,Florida
Posts: 189
Unhappy

Aqueon 24" T5 Dual Lamp Fixture


Aqueon 24" T5 Dual Lamp Fixture
1x 6,700K
1x Colormax bulbs

Each bulb is 14Watts. Im getting confused about the high output and normal output. Is this light NO or HO?

http://www.stage.aqueonproducts.com/...p-fixture.htm#

Last edited by R_Barber001; 10-06-2011 at 08:49 AM.. Reason: Forgot link
R_Barber001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2011, 09:47 AM   #2
jl209
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Modesto,ca
Posts: 240
Default

Its NO HO is 24 watts I believe
jl209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:11 PM   #3
dxiong5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
dxiong5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 800
Default

That would be a T5NO fixture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jl209 View Post
Its NO HO is 24 watts I believe
Can one just swap out the 14 watt bulbs for 24 watt bulbs, then have it be HO? (Sorry, noob with lighting, ballasts, etc.).
__________________
-Donny
dxiong5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 02:07 PM   #4
dundee
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Satellite Beach, Florida
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxiong5 View Post
That would be a T5NO fixture.



Can one just swap out the 14 watt bulbs for 24 watt bulbs, then have it be HO? (Sorry, noob with lighting, ballasts, etc.).
No you cannot. The wattage is set by the ballast.

Why are you unhappy with the fixture? Remember more light is not always a good thing.

What size tank are you using? Are you using CO2?
dundee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:07 PM   #5
R_Barber001
Planted Member
 
R_Barber001's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palmetto Bay,Florida
Posts: 189
Default

Thank you for clearing that up! Just for reference, know of any good T5 HO companies? I enjoy my low to medium set up.
R_Barber001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:21 PM   #6
99RedSi
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Barber001 View Post
Thank you for clearing that up! Just for reference, know of any good T5 HO companies? I enjoy my low to medium set up.
If that is the case, this is the perfect light for you for a 20G tank..
__________________
20G High planted "cliff" aquarium
Dwarf Gourami, Cardinal Tetras, Julii Corydoras
Coralife T5NO (2x28w), DIY Yeast CO2
99RedSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:44 PM   #7
freph
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 2,254
Default

Agreed. The dual fixture is pretty much just right for your tank. If you experience algae and you suspect your light is to blame, you can always raise it up. I checked one of these fixtures out the other day...they're very bright and nice.
__________________
20L - Decommissioned Mini M - Decommissioned
freph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:30 AM   #8
jor8888
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Schaumburg
Posts: 63
Default

I have this light the colormax bulb makes big diff on the color of the plants and shrimps.
jor8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 04:10 AM   #9
VeeSe
Wannabe Guru
 
VeeSe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,422
Send a message via AIM to VeeSe Send a message via MSN to VeeSe
Default

This is the same fixture as the old Coralife T5NOs, just rebranded, I believe. A lot of people use them and like them.
__________________
VeeSe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 04:20 AM   #10
dxiong5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
dxiong5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dundee View Post
No you cannot. The wattage is set by the ballast.
Thanks for the clarification!

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Barber001 View Post
Thank you for clearing that up! Just for reference, know of any good T5 HO companies? I enjoy my low to medium set up.
It's really your preference for T5HO fixtures. I guess you need one with a ballast that can handle the wattage of T5HO bulbs. Popular bulbs are German Gisemann bulbs, but I'm sure other brands work fine as well. I've heard good things about FishNeedIt, Tek by Sunlight Supply, Coralife, and Aqueon fixtures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VeeSe View Post
This is the same fixture as the old Coralife T5NOs, just rebranded, I believe. A lot of people use them and like them.
I have one just like this that is Coralife. Not sure if they're rebranded, from the same factory/parent company, or just similar. Here are Coralife's: http://coralifeproducts.com/product/...ight-fixtures/

Overall, I like it, though the bulbs I have are for marine tanks - so a bit brighter than the freshwater ones.
__________________
-Donny
dxiong5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012