ammania gracilis help needed please - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2005, 07:39 PM   #31
shalu
Wannabe Guru
 
shalu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sugar
Ammania gracilis is typically a plant that will deteriorate when it does not find enough nutrients in the substrate. It can use roots above the surface to overcome the problem, but once the plant deteriorates it doesn't do that any more.

I have experienced exactly the same problem in my tank, it is the only plant causing me problems (it did quite well the first two years http://home.scarlet.be/~tvelst/sugar22.JPG). I added nutrients in the substrate and is taking a new start at the moment. ..



sugar
I have grown it in bare bottom tanks.
__________________
Truvu 100g Flourite, wet/dry, AHSupply 302w PC, PinPoint controller
10gallon15w T6+15w T8
55gallon40w T6 ODNO4x, no CO2. Discus grow out.
10gallon Tonina tank, 2x15w T6 ODNO 4x
---------------------
I will do aquascapes after I collect all the plant species and grow them to perfection.
shalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2005, 08:33 PM   #32
sugar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shalu
I have grown it in bare bottom tanks.
So the roots take nutrients from the water...

sugar
sugar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 11:13 PM   #33
Overfloater
Wannabe Guru
 
Overfloater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (73/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,895
Default

Is that a question?
__________________
Overfloater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 06:24 PM   #34
sugar
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overfloater
Is that a question?
No, just a hypothesis

sugar
sugar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 03:52 AM   #35
Overfloater
Wannabe Guru
 
Overfloater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (73/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sugar
No, just a hypothesis

sugar
In that case, I would venture to guess that they can.
__________________
Overfloater is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012