LED Lighting for 8' x 2' set up?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting

Old 09-20-2011, 03:16 AM   #1
fishtank01
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

LED Lighting for 8' x 2' set up?

Hello,

I have a dilemma. I'm working on a 8' x 2' area that contains eight 10 gallon aquariums. Aquarium dimensions are all approx. 2' x 1' x 1'.

I'm trying to find an economical solution to lighting these aquariums. I would prefer to use LED, although it is an area I have no experience. Anyone have any ideas?

I've attached a rough diagram of the set up and dimensions.

And I'm using these tanks for experimentation - so substrates, water parameters, water level, etc. will be different in each tank, possibly - and subject to change. These tanks will be used for low light to high light plants, and invertebrates/fishes.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10gallonsetup.png
Views:	35
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	35029  

fishtank01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-20-2011, 03:25 AM   #2
OverStocked
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (76/94%)

You're going to have lots of different variables but want one constant light? Can't say that LED would be economical....

You'd have to run them for a super long time(like 10 years) to even break even with electricity costs. If you don't intend to DIY them, then you will take even longer...

I light my breeding racks with shop light fixtures. They work great and grow many plants fine, but are on the low side of lighting.
OverStocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 03:39 AM   #3
fishtank01
Algae Grower

Overstocked -