110vac to 12vdc issue
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2014, 04:18 AM   #1
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default

110vac to 12vdc issue


Ok so I have some leds that run off of a 12vdc because they are meant for use with vehicles... so does any one know the best and cheapest get a in line converter to make my in home 110vac go down to a 12vdc?? If you just say converter at least post a link to a diy or a site selling them... because I have already been looking for one... i need one that's a in line so I can hide it..
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2014, 05:11 AM   #2
jeffkrol
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 2,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpcrazy00 View Post
Ok so I have some leds that run off of a 12vdc because they are meant for use with vehicles... so does any one know the best and cheapest get a in line converter to make my in home 110vac go down to a 12vdc?? If you just say converter at least post a link to a diy or a site selling them... because I have already been looking for one... i need one that's a in line so I can hide it..
Thee are hundreds.. if I understand you right. Just get a 12V switching power supply.

jeffkrol is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2014, 06:21 AM   #3
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default huh

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkrol View Post
Thee are hundreds.. if I understand you right. Just get a 12V switching power supply.

So if I understand you right just any old 12vdc will work... what about amps??? Do I need a certain amount of amps to make the lights work right? Or does it matter?
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2014, 07:34 AM   #4
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpcrazy00 View Post
So if I understand you right just any old 12vdc will work... what about amps??? Do I need a certain amount of amps to make the lights work right? Or does it matter?
Yes, the maximum current supplied by the converter will matter, depending on how much current your drivers require.

It would be much more helpful if you provided the specs of what LEDs/drivers you intend to use.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2014, 08:09 AM   #5
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 564
Default ok...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkblade48 View Post
Yes, the maximum current supplied by the converter will matter, depending on how much current your drivers require.

It would be much more helpful if you provided the specs of what LEDs/drivers you intend to use.
It's those led strips... as far as I can tell you just wire the red to positive and black to negative...

4 x 30cm 15 1210 SMD Flexible LED Light Lamp Strip White DC 12V:Amazon:Automotive 4 x 30cm 15 1210 SMD Flexible LED Light Lamp Strip White DC 12V:Amazon:Automotive
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)

Last edited by Darkblade48; 08-03-2014 at 03:52 PM.. Reason: No eBay links
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2014, 01:26 PM   #6
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,232
Default

You need to supply at least however many amps the LEDs require. If the LEDs need 1amp at 12v dc, you could have a power supply capable of 20amps and 12v dc. The LEDs will only draw as many amps as it needs. However if your power supply is higher than 12v dc, say 24v, the psu will force more amperage than the LEDs require, or are rated at, and blow them out.

You can supply less voltage though, the amps used will end up less than the requirements and only lead to a dimmer light output.
__________________
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2014, 03:09 PM   #7
monkey4life
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Posts: 159
Default

I picked up all my inverters for 2 bucks at the thrift store (arc In my case).
monkey4life is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2014, 03:28 PM   #8
jeffkrol
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 2,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpcrazy00 View Post
So if I understand you right just any old 12vdc will work
...
No you need a constant voltage power supply.. Switching power supplies are stable and output actual 12V .. Some 12V DC wall warts are all over the board on voltage out..



Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpcrazy00 View Post
what about amps??? Do I need a certain amount of amps to make the lights work right? Or does it matter?
1A per 3 feet is a rule of thumb that should work..
jeffkrol is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012