Question about cerges
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2015, 12:10 AM   #1
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 299
Default

Question about cerges


So I got the cerges running with co2 entering the chamber and then push up through the long tube to exit. I tried it the other way and could never keep the large bubbles inside the long tube enough.

But it's running good now but there's a large air pocket at top of chamber. Is it safe to leave it like that? Would I lose any co2 or prevent new co2 from dissolving?
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2015, 12:18 AM   #2
dcutl002
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 416
Default

I think so. I have mine the same way. The CO2 should dissolve in the water rather quickly after the CO2 cuts off. Just don't pump in more CO2 than the reactor can dissolve. Having said that, i have about 5-6 BPS in my Cerges.
__________________

FINNEX CLUB MEMBER!

DUECES!
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 12:41 AM   #3
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 299
Default

Well mine is a 210 gallon...there's tons of bps and it's a 20".
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 12:56 AM   #4
dcutl002
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 416
Default

Do you see any bubbles exiting the reactor? If not, the reactor is doing it's job.
__________________

FINNEX CLUB MEMBER!

DUECES!
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 12:59 AM   #5
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 299
Default

No. There's none exiting.
Just worry about the air pocket if it'll waste co2
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 01:01 AM   #6
dcutl002
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 416
Default

nah, normal
__________________

FINNEX CLUB MEMBER!

DUECES!
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 01:36 PM   #7
flight50
Wannabe Guru
 
flight50's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: dfw
Posts: 1,228
Default

The air pocket just develops on some setups. That is why some people like to make Cerges out of filters that have the purge button. I hear some people are able to turn the filter upside down to get the air to out. Not everyone has theirs setup this way. I install bypass valves on my cerges to divert the extra flow away from the reactor. This pretty much takes the place of the purge.
__________________
Eheim Pimp #509
Finnex Club Member #31
The Fraternity of Dirt #146

Builds - DIY Quad 40g Stands & 90g Stand









Tanks - low tech 29g
flight50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 02:30 PM   #8
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 299
Default

Well I have the purge button...I do use it to purge, is it just purging air?
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 04:39 PM   #9
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,716
Default

It isn't air, it is CO2. So long as the water and CO2 are churning then the reactor is going to be working fine. My 20" reactor was half full of CO2 a few weeks ago and wasn't making annoying sounds or burping bubbles into the tank [turned the gas down a bit though!]. Just turn off the gas so there aren't any CO2 bubbles in the reactor maybe an hour before lights out.
__________________
Kathyy is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 12:51 AM   #10
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 299
Default

So I do turn off co2 an hour before lights go out. Try it again next day, there was like1/4 of water in cerges...rest was filled with co2...Does psi have anything to do with this? I had it at 30 psi in regulator. I will try lowering it
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 01:25 AM   #11
alpha1172
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: pittsburgh,pa
Posts: 54
Default

i think 30 is way to high for a reactor, i run mine at 8-10psi
alpha1172 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 03:54 AM   #12
Dead2fall
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Dead2fall's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nj
Posts: 920
Default

Did you fill it with water before turning on your filter for the first time? Like did it go from full down to 1/4 or did you turn on your pump/filter and it only filled it 1/4 of the way?
Dead2fall is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 11:48 AM   #13
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead2fall View Post
Did you fill it with water before turning on your filter for the first time? Like did it go from full down to 1/4 or did you turn on your pump/filter and it only filled it 1/4 of the way?
well i have a pump pumping water into it, why do I need to fill it with water? I purge it and it went to full and after co2 period, next day, it was down to 1/4. Then I turn on pump to start reactor and it stay at 1/4 until I purge which would make it full again..........

is this suppose to work like that?
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 01:14 PM   #14
Dead2fall
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Dead2fall's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nj
Posts: 920
Default

I asked because I remember my first time running mine I let my canister fill the sump of the house filter housing and it only would fill it 1/4 of the way until I burped it. This doesn't seem to be your issue as you've burped yours. If it's 3/4 full of co2 at shut off time I'd maybe consider shutting off your co2 earlier or possibly even turning it down some.

The psi really doesn't make much of a difference in my opinion as it's only 30psi or whatever you set it at until it gets to the needle valve.

Is your needle valve setting unchanged since you were running the rex reactor?
Dead2fall is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 02:18 PM   #15
andyl9063
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead2fall View Post
I asked because I remember my first time running mine I let my canister fill the sump of the house filter housing and it only would fill it 1/4 of the way until I burped it. This doesn't seem to be your issue as you've burped yours. If it's 3/4 full of co2 at shut off time I'd maybe consider shutting off your co2 earlier or possibly even turning it down some.

The psi really doesn't make much of a difference in my opinion as it's only 30psi or whatever you set it at until it gets to the needle valve.

Is your needle valve setting unchanged since you were running the rex reactor?
I have been adjusting needle valve to have enough co2 for a 210 gallon. I have been running only cerges.
__________________
andyl9063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012