DIY Reactor Ques..
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2003, 02:23 PM   #1
IceWish
Algae Grower
 
IceWish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 55
Send a message via MSN to IceWish
Default

I built a reactor lastnight and set it to work...when i got i noticed that there were very very tiny bubbles comming out of he reactor only noticable if you look from really close.They float up to the top and just sit there.they covermy entire water line.Is that a good thing?
Sorry for the bad pics...i just took them and i was in a hurry.U cant see the bubbles from the pics though just the reactor.
How in the world do you take good aquarium pics? I guess u close all windows so u dont get glare...but what about the flash..on or off hummmm.
IceWish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-04-2003, 06:36 PM   #2
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Small bubbles are supposed to be good, but I heard that if bubbles don't pop that is bad. But then again, isn't it more difficuilt to get smaller bubbles to pop anyways? What kind of substrate do you have?

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2003, 07:29 PM   #3
IceWish
Algae Grower
 
IceWish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 55
Send a message via MSN to IceWish
Default

i have one layer of normal soil ....then a layer of azoo plant grower bed and finally a layer of gravel over that.its about 4" in the back and 2" in front.I also have 1 plant stick under every plant.
IceWish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 04:46 PM   #4
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

I just built one of these reactors too. I had three powerheads and an old gravel vac kicking around. Anyways.. my question is I am using a AC Powerhead 201, 1. Is it powerful enough? 2. Soon as I turn it on there are all sorts of bubbles coming out (just air not co2), is this supposed to happen or is something with the way the powerhead is mounted?

Thanks
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 12:29 AM   #5
IceWish
Algae Grower
 
IceWish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 55
Send a message via MSN to IceWish
Default

Once the entire pump is submerged youre not supposed to be getting any bubbles just co2.Are u sure its covered all the way?
IceWish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 01:45 AM   #6
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

Yeah, it's completely submerged. I thought it was the way the pump was oriented so I sqitch it to horizontal and ran a tube from the powerhead to the gravel vac. Same deal. Doesn't make much sense to me. Seems to be working though. No bubbles go to the surface of the tank. I dunno, maybe I should just buy a RIO and see where that gets me?
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 03:56 AM   #7
KyleT
Planted Tank VIP
 
KyleT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinlo
Yeah, it's completely submerged. I thought it was the way the pump was oriented so I sqitch it to horizontal and ran a tube from the powerhead to the gravel vac. Same deal. Doesn't make much sense to me. Seems to be working though. No bubbles go to the surface of the tank. I dunno, maybe I should just buy a RIO and see where that gets me?
Bad idea. If I could do mine again I would NOT get a RIO. They have to be the worst powerheads/pumps ever in my opinion. I have used pretty much everyother brand, and never again RIO. They are totally unreliable and I have heard horror stories about them. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night to this loud noise, and it is my powerhead stalled making all sorts of noises. I have to get up and turn the darn thing off just to get some sleep.

Kyle
__________________
Please Send all Support Requests to forumadmin
Bit Of Nothing - Personal Blog
KyleT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 10:41 AM   #8
aquaverde
Wannabe Guru
 
aquaverde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mid-Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 1,409
Default

Hm, I was considering a Rio for a sump. Now it looks like I need to consider something else. :roll:

James
__________________
James
aquaverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 04:06 PM   #9
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

Well.. maybe I won't go with the RIO. I check my PH today and it has lowered down to 6.8 over night (with a weak bubble count).. so I guess my reactor is working.. I'll check again tonight.. see what the PH is then.
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 12:29 AM   #10
KyleT
Planted Tank VIP
 
KyleT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,533
Default

Now don't take that as the sole reason for not getting one, as it is just my opinion. Try searching for RIO reviews and see what else you get. Overall when I was looking into powerheads for my nano reef, Rio was generally the brand people shun the most.

Kyle
__________________
Please Send all Support Requests to forumadmin
Bit Of Nothing - Personal Blog
KyleT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 08:44 AM   #11
STAT 007
Planted Member
 
STAT 007's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to STAT 007
Default

I like my Rio. It's simple and for this application, that's a plus. They're pretty darn cheap too, so if you want to replace it, it isn't that big of a deal.
__________________
Sincerely,
STAT 007
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2004

37 gallon AGA Black Seal, Emperor 400, Ebo Jager 200 W, 100% Flourite Substrate, 2x55 Watt AH Supply PC Lighting (5300K & 6400K) @ ~3.4 WPG, High-Pressure CO2.
STAT 007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 11:30 AM   #12
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

But the real question here is.. are there always bubbles in the chamber (gravel vac) even when there is no CO2 present?
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 06:53 PM   #13
carpediem360
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to carpediem360
Default

You know I have some of these home made systems and they aren't bad. What I used to do is run it right into the intake to my canister filter. It works so nice cause all of the co2 is being put in your tank. Now I have found only one problem with this system. I can't keep the seal tight from the bottle to the air hose. I'm useing aquarium sealant and I do let it sit for a day. Anyone have any ideas????
carpediem360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 08:26 PM   #14
digger
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 519
Send a message via ICQ to digger
Default

I believe the cap of the soda bottles is made with polyethylene which I don't think any glue will stick to. I've used aquarium selant before and it eventually leaks. My current DIY co2 at my office uses epoxy to hold the cap to a brass barb, it seems to work pretty well.
digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 09:15 PM   #15
carpediem360
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to carpediem360
Default

A brass barb????
carpediem360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012