Time for an equipment upgrade... *cha ching*
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2003, 08:29 PM   #1
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

I did some calculations last night, and I realized that I am already stressing the limit of my filtration system on the 135 Gallon. That coupled with the obvious need for better cooling and CO2 has prompted me to invest in some better equipment.

First on the list of priorities is to get my CO2 system built. I'm going to go with the Aqualine/Aquamedic stuff as I have read only good things about it, I'm already spending more then I can afford so whats a little bit extra :-) I should have this finished by this time next month.

Second on the list is a whole new filtration system. I'm sick and tired of "consumer grade" canister filters. If this were for a tank 55 Gallons then I would stick to the traditional canisters, but for a tank this big its a ridiculous hassle. I am investing in a Rainbow Lifeguard Filtration system (Mechanical Modules, Chemical Modules, Heater module, UV Sterilizer, Fluidized Bed Filter). Its going to cost around $1500 but it will be worth it in the end. This should be finished in August when I get my raise.

Third on the list is better fans for the canopy, and an air conditioner for the house, its just too damn hot already. That being said, remving a lot of the cheaper equipment from the tank will also keep the temperature down.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2003, 11:08 PM   #2
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Well this isnt going to be as bad as I thought! The new Filtration system is going to be around $1100 after tax (sometimes I hate living in this province).

I have decided to pick up the following Pentair Aquatics modules (Rainbow Lifeguard)

1 - Mechanical Filtration Module (Double Size)
2 - Chemical Filtration Module (Double Size)
3 - Heater Module (Double Size)

http://www.pentairaquatics.com/pdfs/..._AF_SERIES.pdf

4 - 25 Watt UV Module

http://www.pentairaquatics.com/pdfs/...terilizers.pdf

5 - Fluidized Sand Bed

http://www.pentairaquatics.com/pdfs/...uidize_bed.pdf


I'll draw up the plan later tonight so I can figure out how it will all hook together but I think I have a pretty clear picture.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 12:39 AM   #3
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

:shock:

God bless ya bro...
The day I spend that kind of money on my tanks is the day that my tanks are making me money. :lol:

That is quite the system you are looking at getting, if there is such a thing as a perfect system, that looks like it has to be it !
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 12:43 AM   #4
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

Is the Rainbow Lifeguard system easier to service than an Eheim pro series canister ?
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 12:59 AM   #5
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

In a word... Yes....
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 01:52 AM   #6
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

I would skip the sand filter unless you have a very high bio load and a very small plant load. That will save you money. And I would not even buy the UV module. Unless you have chronic GW problems.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 03:09 AM   #7
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

I would only get the UV if you plan on having it as a convenience piece, like a "just in case" kind of thing. Looks like a monster setup though, like Buck said, if there is anything like perfect, it is....

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 06:01 AM   #8
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

I've given this some thought and I have changed a few things.

I'm going to use the standard sized modules except for the Heating module and the UV sterilizer. But the sand filter still remains.

And I actually have a reason for it!

1.) I keep many loaches,some of which are very sensitive and prone to parasitic infections. I I have priced an oversize UV to perform this job, I have it matched properly to the rate of flow. Many avid loach keepers use them for this very purpose.

2.) Again, I keep many loaches. They love to taste plants and reguularly prune certain plants to sticks. If I'm not as carefull in my cleaning regime my filters are overwhelmed by the added Bioload. I want the DSB to help with my biological capacity. The loaches eat a lot of protein rich foods as well, so water can get polluted very quickly. The FSB doesnt cost too much more then a standard module so I don't mind having it there.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 06:34 PM   #9
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Hmmm, so the UV is to eliminate diseases for the loaches... I would maybe run it for a day or two before water change/fertalization then since UV can do some stuff to nutrients in the water... This way, since you are doing it before fertalizing, you won't be wasting lots of nutrients, and you still get the benefit of the UV. Another thing you could do is run it a day or two after water change and then fertalize, but I wouldn't reccomend running it all the time.

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 07:15 PM   #10
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

I wasnt planning on running it all the time, there is a part of this sytem I havent actually discussed yet. I have placed an order for a bunch of x10 controlled outlets, wireless camera's and various other goodies. The 135 Gallon will be completely controlled by my computer.

So CO2, Ph monitoring, temperature monitoring, webcam, UV, heaters, and lights will be controlled by one of my PC's. A friend of mine is a robotics engineer so we're going to try and create some custom x10 modules for aquarium use.

I'm going to post many pics as pieces start coming in :-)
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 09:13 PM   #11
aquaverde
Wannabe Guru
 
aquaverde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mid-Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 1,410
Default

Now this is what I call a project!

James
aquaverde is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2003, 11:45 PM   #12
Pancake
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Wow hope you keep this updated.It sounds like an awsome setup goodluck with it.






Pancake
Pancake is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2003, 08:09 AM   #13
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Here is what I have in mind.....

GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2003, 08:55 PM   #14
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

That is slightly confusing... Is the water to the CO2 reactor coming from the bottom or the top? If it is coming from the bottom, then you might be running into troubel. Also, what are you planning on putting in the chemical filtration part? Looks awesome though!

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2003, 11:20 PM   #15
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

I wondered the same thing. To me it looks like a huge loop with the water coming in the bottom and trying to exit the top.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forced Upgrade RoseHawke General Planted Tank Discussion 12 02-07-2005 11:48 PM
It's time to switch bulbs ninoboy Lighting 1 07-06-2004 05:09 PM
Lighting upgrade for my 100 gal Wasserpest Lighting 5 06-01-2004 06:37 PM
Serious tank failure, time for a new tank. Directions? Mauser101 General Planted Tank Discussion 2 03-23-2004 08:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012