The Planted Tank Forum banner

Aquascaping tools...

9K views 17 replies 14 participants last post by  Momotaro 
#1 ·
I was thinkin' about buying the Aquascaping Tool Kit at AZ Aquatic Gardens but paying 50 bucks for some scissors and tweezers is a little bit crazy, especially for a low-budget student like me. Is there anywhere I can get this kinda stuff for cheaper? I know there has to be some beauty salon places etc. out there that sells this stuff at wholesale price.

#2 ·
I would never pay that much for those tools. That is a gimmick sale like when an auto parts store tries to sell you the most expensive platinum super hyper firing spark plugs. IMO all you really need is a decent pair of stainless scissors and some large tweezers. Buy a pair of scissors for $4 and a pair of tweezers. I don't know where you can buy larger tweezers though, perhaps at a medical supply house. When I was an EMT, I borrowed mine from a hospital I used to frequent :proud:

#3 ·
Have you asked your local pet store? We're in small town USA and hubby stocks them (giant tweezers) in his store. Because of shoplifting he keeps them under the counter rather than out on display, so it's possible one of your local stores has them tucked away somewhere. He brought mine home when he saw me using eyebrow tweezers to plant glosso--said he'd never thought to offer them to his fish customers; he'd always considered them a reptile item.

#5 ·
observant_imp said:
<snip>... Because of shoplifting he keeps them under the counter rather than out on display,... <snip>