29g blackwater biotope- acuario de rio negro
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2011, 11:43 PM   #1
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

29g blackwater biotope- acuario de rio negro


So, my dad came home the other day with a 29 gallon tank! it came with a t12 light and hood, a whisper filter, and clown puke gravel.

so the tank is technically my younger brother's tank, he'll be buying the stuff, but ill be maintaining and scaping it so im claiming it as mine. since he is paying for the stuff, we are just going to keep the hood, even though its not the most attractive thing ever.

it is going to be very lightly planted, with tea-colored water. this is my inspiration http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...0&tx=128&ty=34 i found a nice stump and some smaller sticks of driftwood at the creek, they have been soaking and are just about ready to go into the tank. and i'll have some leaf litter around the wood.

i'm thinking indian almond leaves, because i cant think of any others.

for substrate im going to use PFS

im getting a hydor theo 150W heater.

the light is a t12 light. new plant and fishtank bulb.

the filter is a whisper filter

for plants i have a few small amazon sword plantlets. i might add floaters along the lines somewhere

the stocking is as of now is
-1 pair of angelfish
-6 cardinal tetras
-6 otos
-1 albino BN pleco

i threw the driftwood, before soaking, in the tank with the clown puke, just to get a hardscape in mind before soaking the wood. the green leaves are there to show where the leaf litter will be.

this picture is terrible. excuse the glare

Last edited by orchidman; 07-30-2011 at 10:23 PM..
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2011, 11:46 PM   #2
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

im going right now to wash the sand!
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:52 PM   #3
2in10
Planted Tank Guru
 
2in10's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 2,585
Default

Scape looks very nice
2in10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:58 PM   #4
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

thanks i just hope i can do the same thing again after i switch substrates
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:15 AM   #5
2in10
Planted Tank Guru
 
2in10's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 2,585
Default

I know, I have the same problem. I think you will come up with something pretty close. Use the photo as a guide.
2in10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:18 AM   #6
BradH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 914
Default

I think it's going to look good!
BradH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:21 AM   #7
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

thanks brad me too
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:31 AM   #8
BradH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 914
Default

I'm almost tempted to do something similar in my 29. I have the correct fish for an amazon biotope. I just don't want to get rid of my plants. lol
BradH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:36 AM   #9
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

you should
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:47 AM   #10
BradH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 914
Default

I probably will end up doing it, but it will be a while. All the driftwood I see is expensive and I'm sort of low on funds at the moment.
BradH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:50 AM   #11
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

justgo to the local creek. i found mine
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:00 AM   #12
RipariumGuy
Planted Tank Guru
 
RipariumGuy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,614
Default

Hardscape = Amazing


You're entering this into the AGA contest, right?
__________________
"My next hobby is going to be tearing up $100 bills while simultaneously banging my head against a wall and flooding my basement."
"Ask not what the hobby can do for you, but what you can do the the hobby" - ScapeFu
The Jake-arium
Wabi-Kusa Pimp #3
RipariumGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:04 AM   #13
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

you got that right jake! this one will be easy to make look great! * knock on wood* i dont have to worry about plants. i cant wait.
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:06 AM   #14
BradH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orchidman View Post
justgo to the local creek. i found mine
Do you have to do anything to the wood first? I thought about going to the lake and getting some driftwood locally, but I think I read your supposed to boil it and I don't have a way to boil anything that big. lol
BradH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:07 AM   #15
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

i soak it, then empty, soak with bleach, scrub, soak again. then its safe, but floating can be a problem sometimes. but this time most of them are already water soaked
orchidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012