Trying to start up my low-tech 10g..
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum

Old 06-16-2011, 11:13 PM   #1
DansSpace
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Trying to start up my low-tech 10g..

Hey! Newbie here from Las Vegas. I've lurked on here for a really long time, finally got the courage to start up my own tank. My family used to have a 55g saltwater tank, and I used to have that same 55g in my room with some fish, but no plants, so I've got a little aquarium experience. But I want plants! And I don't want to go straight to Co2 and dosing ferts and all that.
So I guess my question is, what are you low-tech 10g guys using for lighting? Would a clip on 26watt put me into Co2 needing realm? Is a single light like that going to get light across my whole tank, or have most of it directed towards the middle? I thought while I was lurking I had this all figured out. Now that I'm out shopping for stuff, I feel really lost. I just need a little reassurance over here. haha. Links to stuff would be awesome, so I know what I'm lookin for.
DansSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-17-2011, 12:13 AM   #2
hamsterman
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (23/100%)

You won't need CO2. I recommend sticking with java ferns, bolbitis, mosses, pellia, and anubias. Due to my lack of funds, I always used a desk lamp over my 10 gallon. Although I had around 60 watts of lighting, I never never had a problem. Then again, I also had shrimp and MTS to clean up.
hamsterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 12:26 AM   #3
DansSpace
Algae Grower

I certainly plan on having some shrimp in there. So a 26 watt light over my 10g shouldn't cause any problems if I'm trying to keep it low tech. Hopefully. haha
Old 06-17-2011, 09:56 PM   #4
joetaff
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)