How much gravel should i have ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2011, 06:24 PM   #1
Eviltwist
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 149
Default

How much gravel should i have ?


Just recently i started a tank without much knowledge.
I bought all the stuff from PETSMART, 36 galon bow front aquarium with all the equipment needed for it.

Not knowing much i bought the TOP FIN gravel which is not nice at all and i don't have enough of it i guess.

Anyways i want to know how many inches of gravel do i need for a planted tank.
I'm going for the Eco Complete.
Eviltwist is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
msawdey
Wannabe Guru
 
msawdey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eviltwist View Post
Just recently i started a tank without much knowledge.
I bought all the stuff from PETSMART, 36 galon bow front aquarium with all the equipment needed for it.

Not knowing much i bought the TOP FIN gravel which is not nice at all and i don't have enough of it i guess.

Anyways i want to know how many inches of gravel do i need for a planted tank.
I'm going for the Eco Complete.

What I did in my 50 was bought about 3 bags of eco complete and mixed it with gravel from petco. First, it keeps the cost down. Second, unless you want the all black or red look (i went with the black with a pea gravel color) mixing them looks great with wood or lava rock. My suggestion for a 36 would be buy 2 bags of eco and 2 medium size gravel bags. Clean, mix them together in a bucket and lay it out. Follow some of the posts on how to properly substrate a tank ... best of luck!
__________________
msawdey
-Just another day in paradise-
msawdey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2011, 07:33 PM   #3
Eviltwist
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 149
Default

I wanted to get rid of that Top Fin gravel completely and replace it with Eco Complete Black. Anyways i want to know how many inches of it should i have.
Eviltwist is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2011, 08:44 PM   #4
audioaficionado
Planted Tank Guru
 
audioaficionado's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Medford, Orygun
Posts: 2,198
Default

3" average depth is what I shoot for.
__________________
Steve

45 gal tall high-tech : 2-23-12 update
Complete CO2 Leak Test : How to build a CO2 regulator


Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
Growing older is mandatory, growing up is optional.
My advice is free and worth every penny.
audioaficionado is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2011, 09:59 PM   #5
Eviltwist
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 149
Default

Yeah i was aiming for a 3" or 4" . Thanks a lot for the answer.
Eviltwist is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2011, 10:09 PM   #6
dysorder
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Griffith, IN
Posts: 54
Default

Most of what I've read recommends 1 pound of substrate per gallon of water.
dysorder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2011, 01:25 AM   #7
Eviltwist
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dysorder View Post
Most of what I've read recommends 1 pound of substrate per gallon of water.
I've seen people saying that too, tho if it will be 1 pound per gallon i will end up with like 2 inches i think and i don't know if that's enough.
Eviltwist is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2011, 02:56 AM   #8
gordonrichards
Planted Tank Guru
 
gordonrichards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (334/99%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Huntington Station, NY
Posts: 4,680
Send a message via Yahoo to gordonrichards
Default

2 inches of substrate is enough. 4 inches is overkill in a way...

-Gordon
gordonrichards is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2011, 09:43 PM   #9
dwc13
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 269
Default

Keep in mind additional substrate depth can allow your plants to be a bit closer to the source of light, all other things being equal. That can make a difference in a taller aquarium such as a 45G (24"H). Or, perhaps you don't have the best lighting at the moment for an bigger aquarium, deeper substrate might just be an inexpensive solution to what is needed for more (light) demanding plants until you can get better lighting.

Also some folks like terraced substrate so there are different levels in the aquarium. I don't have the patience (especially for a planted tank) but when it's done well it looks great.
__________________
The paperless office will become a reality only after implementation of the paperless bathroom.
dwc13 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012