Osmocote Plus/Miracle Gro used in gravel safe in a tank WITH fish?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters

Old 06-05-2011, 11:49 PM   #1
Sparkle

PTrader: (0/0%)

Osmocote Plus/Miracle Gro used in gravel safe in a tank WITH fish?

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to planted tanks (at least putting much more thought into them than "add plants, let fish fertilize") and want to make sure I don't do anything that could harm my fish.

I've acquired some small-ish amazon swords and currently only have inert gravel in my tanks. I don't want to go to soil, and won't be redoing the substrate in the near future, so I wanted to fertilize using root tabs of some sort. I've read that Osmocote Plus (16-9-12) terrestrial plant fertilizer granules are recommended for planted tanks over some root tabs.

However, I haven't been able to find Osmocote Plus anywhere (possibly not available in Canada?) but I have found what I think is a nearly identical product - Miracle Gro Shake 'N' Feed 19-6-12. There's just a small difference in the NPK ratio, and the Miracle Gro has no micronutrients.

For comparison, here's the Miracle Gro Shake 'N' Feed 19-6-12 MSDS and product label vs. the Osmocote Plus MSDS.

So my questions are:

(1) Is it safe to be using these fertilizers (made for terrestrial plants) in tanks with FISH in them? What if one works its way up through the gravel to the surface... and a fish tries to eat it...

(2) Do you agree that these are very similar/interchangeable products, with the only differences being the lack of micronutrients in the Miracle Gro, and the slightly different NPK ratios? It looks like I won't be able to get the Osmocote locally, and I'm hoping for an alternative.

Thank you so much in advance for any advice and help you can offer!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement