PH way high? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2002, 05:04 PM   #16
ridns
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
ridns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rockford,IL
Posts: 349
Default

I had that same problem with my hex tank when I started it. I had a ph around 8.0 and it wouldn't come down for a long time. Since then I have planted it and added fish. The ph went to around 7.6 or 7.8. and the water was still very hard. From the start it tested about 16 or 18 GH and KH. The water in my area has that problem and I am aware of it. Well, I did water changes with water from my purifier and the hardness started to drop. Then I added CO2 with a DIY system. Now it is checking GH6, KH6, PH7.4. I believe it takes a while to bring down the ph having to first deal with the hardness issue. We'll see if my next checks bear this out.:hehe:
Oh, I forgot... my plants are growing fast and the fish seem quite happy.
__________________
Eheim pimp #128, 55gal 13x20x48, Eheim Pro 2227, CO2 injected, into the filter breather tube,4x 55w Pcs , 12 hr light cycle (sunrise/sunset simulated), Milwaukee SMS 122, faulty bubble counter replaced with M3 bubble counter..... moderately Planted, Plantex CSM+B and ferts

To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research
ridns is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2002, 12:15 AM   #17
ridns
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
ridns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rockford,IL
Posts: 349
Default

update: ph 6.8, KH6, GH6, and since I added a reactor that works, CO2 25. I just got lucky that my DIY CO2 is delivering the correct amount to the reactor I guess. :hehe:
__________________
Eheim pimp #128, 55gal 13x20x48, Eheim Pro 2227, CO2 injected, into the filter breather tube,4x 55w Pcs , 12 hr light cycle (sunrise/sunset simulated), Milwaukee SMS 122, faulty bubble counter replaced with M3 bubble counter..... moderately Planted, Plantex CSM+B and ferts

To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research
ridns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2002, 09:39 PM   #18
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

What type of CO2 test kit did you get... all the ones that my LFS sells are like $20 since it comes in a combo pack..but I would like to get one!

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2002, 12:41 AM   #19
ridns
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
ridns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rockford,IL
Posts: 349
Default

I have a "Fresh Water Master Test Kit" from Aquarium Pharmaceuticals. It tests PH, KH, GH, Amonia, and nitrite. After I know this I put the numbers into a chart I found on "The Krib" and it tells me CO2. I have to go to the dry tab kit I use for my salt water tanks to check nitrate. This kit is also from Aquarium Pharmaceuticals. :hehe:
__________________
Eheim pimp #128, 55gal 13x20x48, Eheim Pro 2227, CO2 injected, into the filter breather tube,4x 55w Pcs , 12 hr light cycle (sunrise/sunset simulated), Milwaukee SMS 122, faulty bubble counter replaced with M3 bubble counter..... moderately Planted, Plantex CSM+B and ferts

To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research
ridns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2002, 02:56 PM   #20
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

I have the same test kits you do! I'd like to get one for Nitrates, but they cost a lot. That CO2 forumula is very useful indeed!

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 04:07 PM   #21
ridns
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
ridns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rockford,IL
Posts: 349
Default

I wish I had the $$$ to buy the CO2 equipment that is really needed to have an accurate and stable supply for at least my 55gal tank. Maybe Santa will smile on me. (I hope!) :hehe:
__________________
Eheim pimp #128, 55gal 13x20x48, Eheim Pro 2227, CO2 injected, into the filter breather tube,4x 55w Pcs , 12 hr light cycle (sunrise/sunset simulated), Milwaukee SMS 122, faulty bubble counter replaced with M3 bubble counter..... moderately Planted, Plantex CSM+B and ferts

To steal ideas from one person is plagiarism; to steal from many is research
ridns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 04:20 AM   #22
Skysong
Algae Grower
 
Skysong's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, Eh?
Posts: 27
Send a message via MSN to Skysong Send a message via Yahoo to Skysong
Default

pH rises when the trapped CO2 gases off, so maybe that's it.
__________________
Skysong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's a great how to lorax Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium 3 06-09-2009 12:24 AM
Low - Med - High wpg rates mitche8359 Lighting 2 09-14-2005 08:56 PM
High PH, high GH, low KH, dumb goofy water tomanystraydogs Fertilizers and Water Parameters 4 07-25-2004 06:18 PM
Wanted names of High Oxygen Producing Plants nexstar General Planted Tank Discussion 4 05-30-2004 12:56 AM
My 20G High BobbyDrake Tank Journals 13 03-19-2004 02:45 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012