Algae outbreak! Why?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2015, 10:14 PM   #1
briggs&straton
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Default

Algae outbreak! Why?


hi guys!

Im looking to get some insight and suggestions on how to help my new setup algae free..

The aquarium is a 110 G, set the tank up 3 months ago, previously had african cichlids. Sold all of them, took sand out and replaced with Eco-Complete and converted to a planted aquarium with pressurized Co2 through a ceramic diffusor. The aquarium is still cycled.


PH: 7.6
Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 10ppm

Here is my plant list:

Vallisneria spiralis
Ludwigia repens
Narrow Leaf Java Fern
Amazon Sword
Dwarf Sag
Dwarf Hair grass

Here is my Ferts that I dose:

Pottassium
Nitrogen
Flourish Iron
Flourish Phosporus
Flourish Trace

Those are all liquid, receiving dry ferts soon from GLA.

Lighting:

50" T5 4 bulb 80 watts

1 red flora bulb
1 aquablue bulb
2 6000k day light bulbs

Currently running for 8 hours schedule is like this (4 hours of daylight and blu bulb with 2 hour over lap of all 4 bulbs midday then remaining of 4 hours of red and day light bub).

Stocked with:

6 neon tetra
7 spotted rasbora
3 nerite snails
2 crystal red shrimp
2 fire red shrimp
3 amano shrimp



The aquarium is growing green spot algae, and brown hair algae. The brown hair is starting to get a little out of control. Also, fish broke out with a little bit of ICH so I started dosing with Kents ICH attack, not sure if that would promote algae growth or not.


Please let me what I am doing wrong or any suggestions to as why I am getting this algae.
briggs&straton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2015, 10:46 PM   #2
Midnighttide102
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Florida , Port Richey
Posts: 739
Default

Here's a good link on algea

http://www.theplantedtank.co.uk/algae.htm
Midnighttide102 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2015, 11:24 PM   #3
briggs&straton
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Default

i will definitely look at this. Is there anything that you see that might be the culprit though?
briggs&straton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2015, 12:14 AM   #4
Midnighttide102
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Florida , Port Richey
Posts: 739
Default

Fluctuating co2 and high phosphate can cause green spot algae and the diatom algae is more then liking coming from new substraight establishing the brown algae usually will go away on it's own in time
Midnighttide102 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2015, 12:14 AM   #5
lee739
CO2 junkie
 
lee739's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 532
Default

A 110g tank with a ceramic diffuser - I suspect you are CO2 deficient. Your pH of 7.6 suggests the same - do you know what your KH is??
lee739 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2015, 10:16 PM   #6
briggs&straton
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Default

thank you for the replies!

I have a reactor but it is junk so i went to my diffusor. what would you guys suggest for a reactor?
briggs&straton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2015, 10:52 PM   #7
Midnighttide102
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Florida , Port Richey
Posts: 739
Default

I can't recommend a reactor I have no experience with them you should post the question in the equipment section I am sure you will get a quick response to what guys are using and what's worth while
Midnighttide102 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2015, 01:13 AM   #8
Turningdoc
Algae Grower
 
Turningdoc's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 103
Default

What do you use as a water source? Test phosphate as this may be high in your water supply and can easily get unbalanced if adding supplemental as well.
Turningdoc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2015, 03:17 AM   #9
briggs&straton
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Default

i see, just using tap water. Arizona water i know is pretty hard. i will test to excess phosphates. right now i will be testing with increasing the co2. and make sure my ferts are enough.
briggs&straton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2015, 07:10 PM   #10
klibs
Wannabe Guru
 
klibs's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 1,537
Default

Key question to ask is how many plants do you have in your tank?

Before taking advice specifically targeting CO2 or specific nutrients take a step back and consider how much light you are putting out vs how many plants are available to use it. You could spend weeks battling algae by adding more P, increasing CO2, etc... but if you simply have way too much light over not enough plants then ferts are not going to make a difference. It's not like if you have enough CO2 and ferts you can handle any amount of light no matter what. Plant mass is the #1 most overlooked variable in this equation from what I have seen on the forum.

4x T5HO could be a LOT of light for 8 hrs straight (depends on the specific ballast). You will need a lot of plants to use up all that light even with proper CO2 and ferts.

Before you try looking at nutrient deficiencies address your light levels / plant mass then CO2. Nutrients after those are in check. If you have like 2 of each of the plants listed then you need a lot more plants. 110g is a very large tank so you'll need a lot of plants to make a high-tech setup work out.

Also, pics would help
__________________
75 Gallon Dirty High Tech
29 Gallon Low Tech
klibs is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2015, 07:40 PM   #11
briggs&straton
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Default

yes i dont have many plants at the moment, waiting for them to grow out. I also had that in mind that i didnt have enough plants to take in all the ferts. I can post a picture when i get home.
briggs&straton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2015, 08:02 PM   #12
Mikeygmzmg
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Mikeygmzmg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Socal
Posts: 398
Default

If you are using a ceramic diffuser in a 110, that would be my guess. I have a 90 and use a ceramic diffuser, and it takes almost 10-12 BPS to get the co2 levels right. Also, I always liked this link for algae:

http://www.miyabi-aqua.com/tips-and-...e-war-on-algae

Try to keep stocking with lots and lots of plants too, that will help a ton!
__________________
-Mikey G
Mikeygmzmg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2015, 09:18 PM   #13
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 15,131
Default

+ 1 on too much light.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2015, 11:15 PM   #14
briggs&straton
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Default

Here are the pictures requested. Just ordered a sera reactor and drop checker. Hope they help with the co2.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0526151558.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	72.0 KB
ID:	478521  

Click image for larger version

Name:	0526151558a.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	141.8 KB
ID:	478529  

Click image for larger version

Name:	0526151558b.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	157.2 KB
ID:	478537  

Click image for larger version

Name:	0526151559.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	138.4 KB
ID:	478545  

briggs&straton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2015, 12:54 AM   #15
Chubbi
Here Fishy, Fishy..
 
Chubbi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default

after seeing this picture your most certainly lacking plant mass vs your light output in; as mentioned above you'll be fighting forever.
Chubbi is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Your Location. As precise as you feel comfortable with.
Security Question
While balancing on a piece of wood, two inches by four inches known as a 2x4, John and his friend Sally both spotted a dalmatian inside of a truck with sirens. The animal with John and Sally is a _ _ _?
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012