I started a fishroom! - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Local Pet Stores, Clubs, and Conventions > Pennsylvania


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2011, 11:58 PM   #16
msjinkzd
Rachel O'Leary
 
msjinkzd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (205/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: mount wolf, pa
Posts: 3,836
Send a message via AIM to msjinkzd
Default

Its just a way to reduce the costs of running multiple filters AL40 would be overkill for 9 tanks though its a very nice pump.
msjinkzd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2011, 12:37 PM   #17
joon
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
joon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 847
Send a message via MSN to joon
Default

so if i use central linear airpump, do i have to use sponge filters or does it make automatic water change system? of course i want to save electric bill and thank u for ur advice, msjinkzd
joon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 01:44 PM   #18
msjinkzd
Rachel O'Leary
 
msjinkzd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (205/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: mount wolf, pa
Posts: 3,836
Send a message via AIM to msjinkzd
Default

You would use either sponge filters or corner filters (I use one of each in each tank so that if I need to use chemical media, I can).


I am nto sure why these lost so much popularity, but they usually cost from $2-6 each. You put in established gravel in the bottom, then most people put floss on top of that. I use these in my breeding and import tanks in case I have had ot medicate and want to remove the medication with carbon. They are totally air driven, just like sponge filters you just can customize their media more. they are a bit of a pain to clean, but at $2 each, I cope

I do'nt use a central water system, as I import. I cannot risk contaminating one tank with another and use separate nets, hoses, etc for each tank.
msjinkzd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012