Any Epson Stylus Photo printer gurus?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Forums > The Lounge & Introductions

Old 04-08-2011, 04:46 AM   #1
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (5/100%)

Any Epson Stylus Photo printer gurus?

Last weekend I picked up two Epson Stylus Photo printers at a garage sale. One is an R800, and the other is an R340. At $10 for the pair, I figured it was worth a chance!

Both seem to work, but will need new ink and thorough printhead cleaning before I can determine their true condition. For now, I'm focusing on restoring the R800, since it uses a pigment based ink suitable for high-quality art prints.

While I know a few things about photo printers, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to actually using and maintaining one. So:

1) Where can I get some relatively inexpensive, but acceptable quality R800 cartridges? I don't want to spend too much or get top quality to start with, since it's possible the printer may not be salvageable. Even if it is, I'll probably burn through a lot of ink initially on cleaning cycles and learning to tweak output. But I certainly don't want to get carts so poor, or likely to be defective, that they will falsely lead me into thinking the printer is unsalvageable.

2) I have no idea how long these printers have been sitting around. Should I initially replace all the cartridges, even if they're not empty?

3) I keep finding reference to a highly regarded, free DIY cleaning manual by Arthur Entlich, which he'll email upon request. I requested it at e-printerhelp(@)mvps(.)org (altered to avoid spam), but he didn't respond. Does anyone have a copy of this pdf, or a more current email address?

4) Can anyone recommend a particular forum, with experts on use and maintenance of this printer?
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement