Plants induce algae or reduce algae??
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2003, 03:46 PM   #1
calico
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

Quick question...I'm deciding between setting up a planted tank or a non-planted tank. Assuming I have no algae growth in my non-planted tank, will the addition of plants induce or introduce algae to my system? I am curious because in my previous 10 gal. once I put some anacharis in, algae became a big problem. Prior to that, I had no algae. If I treat the plants first with some K-permanganate, will that kill the algae on the plant? Does anyone else have a successful planted Eclipse 6 system? I'd like to ask you about lighting, presence of a Bio-wheel, carbon filter, etc. Where can i get substrate that won't cloud my water? Is having root tabs sufficient with no substrate? Argh, so many questions!!! Thanks
__________________
Eclipse Six
calico is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2003, 06:20 PM   #2
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

If your tank is good for plants then it's good for algae also. The trick is to get the plants growing good then they'll out compete the algae for nutrients.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 07:52 PM   #3
calico
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default

But if I don't let any algae into the system, I can avoid the problem all together right? Can't I treat all the plants prior to putting them into the tank? I've heard bleach can do the trick...
__________________
Eclipse Six
calico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 10:16 PM   #4
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

Algae is in the air you breathe. There's no way to keep it out of your tank. Sorry.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2003, 11:43 PM   #5
Jon.D
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to Jon.D
Default

So if algae is in the air we breath,why not go ahead and put some plants in youre tank. Sounds to me Calico that you have low lighting. I personally would stick some java fern and a anubias in there. You might get a little algae at first but it should go away.And you can always buy and algae eating fish to help out. Sword tails work good for that.so do s.a.e and c.a.e. A planted tank is the only way to go...........
__________________
3 thirty gallon tanks two with 96 watt power compacts with amazon 5000 k bulbs:floramax substrateIY c.o2
Jon.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's a great how to lorax Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium 3 06-09-2009 12:24 AM
My algae problems depthC Algae 1 03-07-2004 07:07 PM
algae took hold before plants did... Tres General Planted Tank Discussion 4 02-10-2004 04:25 PM
Plants have grown nicely crazy! So have algae :( Help! FrozenAssassin Algae 2 02-03-2004 06:30 PM
Hair Algae - Nitrates & Phosphates lanstar Algae 17 12-18-2002 01:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012