Substrate help
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2011, 03:31 AM   #1
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Question

Substrate help


i am setting up a 30 gallon tank, and i want it to be planted, (no duh i am on a planted tank forum) but whatever, i want to do like one inch of sand (what type of sand should i use?) then an inch of potting mix (what type should i use? please be super specific!) then like 1.5 inches of that special plant gravel mixed with some normal gravel (what type of special plant gravel should i use?). that is it, please respond and be super specific.
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2011, 01:49 PM   #2
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

can anyone help me?
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2011, 02:07 PM   #3
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

can anyone give a specific brand and type of potting mix i can use in a 30 gallon planted tank? maybe you can post a link for a website that i could do some research or even buy it. thank you!
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2011, 02:21 PM   #4
brianS
Algae Grower
 
brianS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 96
Default

Sand would be fine. You'd want to use pool filter sand, but be careful of potting soil and the type you use. You don't want to use anything with fertilizers in it. Potting soil can be quite messy too. On top of this section is a thread on MTS. You may want to read that. I've never used "just" potting soil, but I do use MTS. The problem with most potting soil is that they contain fertilizers, that if leached into the your tank can wreak havoc. Many also contain a lot of wood chips that can make a mess of your tank as well. Also becareful of the so-called "organic" potting soils. They aren't always what they appear to be. One more note... I don't believe you want to use "potting mix", as this will surely contain things that you don't want in your tank.
brianS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2011, 02:25 PM   #5
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

oh thanks, then i will use some of this "MTS" and thanks for the warning on potting mix, THANKS!
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2011, 06:16 PM   #6
Hilde
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hilde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 4,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kibblemania1414 View Post
i want to do like one inch of sand then an inch of potting mix.
then like 1.5 inches of that special plant gravel mixed with some normal gravel
Pool filter sand or river sand is the best. One rinse of pool filter sand from Lowe's worked fine for me. If you are going to put rock over it, I would just put a fingers width of sand over the dirt.

For potting soil some use miracle grow organic, which is a product recommended by Diane Walsted. Some have ammonia spikes with this in the beginning. I just used Scott's top soil mixed with cactus soil. Had to sift mulch out. Read one got top soil from True Value hardware store that didn't have much mulch in it.
Hilde is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2011, 06:19 PM   #7
lauraleellbp
Fresh Fish Freak
 
lauraleellbp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (70/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 24,402
Default

I'll vouch for the Miracle Gro Organic Choice potting mix. I've got that in 2 of my tanks right now and it's working well. Capped it with my Flourite mix, filled the tank, added the fish immediately- no issues.
__________________
Tampa Bay Aquarium Society - Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!
TBAS Annual Fish Auction - November 1st!!

lauraleellbp is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2011, 12:26 AM   #8
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

cool, i already have sand, but what do you mean by "capping?"
Quote:
Capped it with my Flourite mix, filled the tank, added the fish immediately- no issues.
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2011, 01:14 AM   #9
lauraleellbp
Fresh Fish Freak
 
lauraleellbp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (70/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 24,402
Default

Put it on top, to hold it down.
__________________
Tampa Bay Aquarium Society - Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!
TBAS Annual Fish Auction - November 1st!!

lauraleellbp is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2011, 08:28 PM   #10
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

oh so it means you put something on top of the fluorite mix so it doesn't float?
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2011, 09:05 PM   #11
lauraleellbp
Fresh Fish Freak
 
lauraleellbp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (70/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 24,402
Default

No, I put the Flourite on top of the Miracle Gro, to hold the Miracle Gro down. The Miracle Gro is very lightweight and probably would not hold plants well, otherwise.
__________________
Tampa Bay Aquarium Society - Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!
TBAS Annual Fish Auction - November 1st!!

lauraleellbp is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2011, 09:07 PM   #12
heydude819
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: brooklyn, ny
Posts: 573
Default

She means to put a different layer of substrate on top of the dirt so the dirt wouldn't get into the water column. In Laura's case it was her fluorite mix...for you it would be the sand that you're thinking about getting.

I guess I was a bit too slow haha
heydude819 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2011, 11:55 PM   #13
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

OK thanks! and do you guys recommended the plant gravel with nutrients in the gravel? or do you think its a waist of money?
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2011, 12:10 AM   #14
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

anyone?
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2011, 12:24 AM   #15
Kibblemania1414
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 746
Default

should i get seachem fluorite plant substrate?
__________________
Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=148862
Kibblemania1414 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
gallon, helping, plant, specific, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012