Hydrologix CO2 reactor
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2003, 03:24 PM   #1
chode
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 45
Default

Does any one have experience with the External Hydrologix CO2 reactor? They seem expensive but I am looking for an external reactor for a 125 gallon tank.
chode is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2003, 09:01 PM   #2
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

I just bought one. I have it installed (see the photo in my tank journal), but the tank isn't running yet. Check out this site:

http://www.home.cshore.com/luna/Fishpics/Misc.html

I emailed him before I bought mine and he wrote back:
Quote:
The reactor has been 100% maintenance and trouble free. I haven't touched it since installing it!
I can tell you that the reactor, although expensive, is extremely well made. The customer service at Hydrologix is first rate!
Mike
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2003, 11:48 PM   #3
Pancake
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Maybe I'm just a really cheap person but that reactor seems awfully high priced.


You could use the plans GulfCoast has on his site and just substitute regular 2" pvc pipe in place of the clear tubing he uses and make a reactor just as good as that $100 product your looking at for less then $15.I've had great success using his design.


Pancake
Pancake is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2003, 02:12 AM   #4
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Call it expensive.... and it is.. but after only a couple of hours my plants are pearling.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2003, 03:20 PM   #5
chode
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 45
Default

What is your ph before CO2 and after and what ppm of CO2 are you at now? How many bubbles per minute are you running?
chode is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2003, 11:02 PM   #6
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Before CO2 the pH was 7.1, now it is 6.8. I am using a controller, and I must admit the pH does swing a bit between the two numbers. I am not sure the controller is working properly.I am running a bubble about every fout seconds.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2003, 06:28 PM   #7
STAT 007
Planted Member
 
STAT 007's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to STAT 007
Default

Tell us about your controller, solenoid, CO2 regulator, and pressure settings.
__________________
Sincerely,
STAT 007
Fightin' Texas Aggie Class of 2004

37 gallon AGA Black Seal, Emperor 400, Ebo Jager 200 W, 100% Flourite Substrate, 2x55 Watt AH Supply PC Lighting (5300K & 6400K) @ ~3.4 WPG, High-Pressure CO2.
STAT 007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2003, 10:23 PM   #8
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

I am using the Milwaukee CO2 regulator along with the Milwaukee pH controller. I am a bit suspect of the controller, the pH swings too much. Pressure is what is recommened by Milwaukee.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
co2 reactor working properly? mids1999 Equipment 27 02-13-2005 07:04 AM
Need Suggestions on placement of DIY Co2 Reactor Poohbee DIY 6 07-07-2004 03:03 AM
Another CO2 reactor question.... gmaniac Equipment 1 03-29-2004 01:52 AM
Difference between AM and AB reactor 1000s? SNPiccolo5 Equipment 7 11-14-2003 09:32 PM
DIY CO2 Reactor Question/problem... KyleT Equipment 9 08-02-2003 10:39 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012