Just starting a 2.5 gallon Iwagumi tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 12-10-2010, 10:05 PM   #1
penguinmaster
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Just starting a 2.5 gallon Iwagumi tank

So I'm just starting my journey in a 2.5 gallon planted office tank. I'm completely new to planted tanks, but have had many other freshwater and saltwater tanks. There's something really calming and interesting though about an Iwagumi tank so I figured I'd give it a shot.

The tank I'm going to be used is an AGA 2.5 gallon with the sides and back painted gloss black. It has a custom made hood that houses an mini coralife aqualight (18 watts total), I just have to pick up two 6700 watt bulbs pretty quick here. I have an aquaclear 20 to use as a filter as well. I don't think I'll need a heater (have one in case) as my office stays right between 70-75 degree. I think the design will hopefully be cleaner that way.

I have already picked up 3 nice rocks to do the standard design as it calls for. My plan for plants is dwarf hairgrass in the back and HC in the front. Shrimps and a snail for livestock.

I have ONE really (well at least I think) stupid question in regards to planting this tank. I've been to every fish and pet store in my city and not one has any of the substrates talked about in the other posts I've read. Is there something I'm missing about substrates? Could I just use normal gravel and plant into that somehow or does it absolutely need to be some type of "dirt" substrate covered by gravel.

Thanks everybody and I'll be getting some pictures up soon!
penguinmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-11-2010, 03:22 AM   #2
gregpxc
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)