Best water flow practices in heavily planted discus tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 11-29-2010, 01:59 PM   #1
dan woods
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Best water flow practices in heavily planted discus tank?

I am a newbie and have started (actually first big tank) with a 120g planted discus tank and want to be sure I have plenty of water movement for a healthy tank environment for fish and plants. Equipment setup so far is as follows;
filters- 3 G6 canisters
UV sterilizer- 57 watt inline on one G6
CO2- aqua medic 1000 inline reactor w/Milwaukee PH controller/gauges on one G6
lights- 4 30watt LED marine white units, 2 54watt t-5 bulbs
heat- 2 Rena in tank in-line 300 watt units
gravel- 240 lbs Eco complete, 75 lbs of petrified redwood
wood- very large African branchwood centerpiece and 6 smaller African pcs.
Air- small airstone and pump (just in case I need)

The tank (plants) looks like a little better water movement is in order. My first question would be about the thoughts of using a VorTech MP40w ES Propeller Pump for added circulation or does this seem extreme? My only familiarly with the pump is on line research and looks like a great pump with lots of flexibility. Any input greatly appreciated. The tank is only 3 weeks old and has what i would characterize a robust contents. You will have to excuse my ignorance for proper names (and spelling) but has various large Amazon swords, Java mosses and ferns.
10 Discus 4 and 1/2 to 6 inch size
3 bristle noise plecos
10 Sterba's Cory
8 black phantom tetras
8 espei rasboras

Again, thoughts on best pump addition for water movement in the tank?
dan woods is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-29-2010, 03:51 PM   #2
Solid
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (21/100%)