Laterite
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2002, 08:48 AM   #1
Volitan
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Volitan Send a message via Yahoo to Volitan
Default

Well.. I dont know if I made the right choice or not.. But I added 1 ounce per gallon of laterite to my established 55 ... I rinsed and rinsed the laterite in my sink through a strainer.. till it wasnt really giving off much red dust anymore.. I then took a small cup and packed it full of this moist laterite and then slowly dumped it into my gravel.. then mixing it in with the gravel... I had to pull up most my plants to succesfully do this.. but.. the question is.. there is a little cloud in the tank now.. and I noticed that well.. not all of this laterite is Under the substrate.. is this gonna cause me a problem? or should things work out just fine in the end? thanks in advance
Volitan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-09-2002, 03:37 AM   #2
Steve Hampton
Planted Member
 
Steve Hampton's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL
Posts: 160
Default

This will almost certainly cause use problems with both cloudy water and nutrient release each time you disturb the substrate planting or moving plants. Even bottom dwellers will go rooting around in their continual search for food and cause cloudy water. Laterite should be confined to the lower 1/2 of the substrate. IOW, you should mix laterite in the bottom half and then top the laterite enriched portion of substrate with an equal amount of plain gravel/sand/substrate. If it was me at this point, I'd cover the entire substrate with at least 1 inch of additional substrate over what you currently have.
Steve Hampton is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2002, 03:37 AM   #3
Volitan
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Volitan Send a message via Yahoo to Volitan
Default

Wont this throw my tank for a loop? considering I would be covering up all the Bioload with unseeded gravel? I do have a powerfilter and well ofcourse its planted.. so maybe I could pull this off with no ill effects?
Volitan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laterite question Kris Substrate 2 04-11-2004 01:51 AM
laterite useage mousey Substrate 7 01-10-2004 04:07 AM
Sand and flourite, or laterite. Sebastian Substrate 8 12-18-2003 09:56 PM
Can i add more laterite? evan General Planted Tank Discussion 8 08-05-2003 06:01 PM
Pure Laterite Steve_WI General Planted Tank Discussion 3 11-23-2002 02:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012