Making aquarium
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2014, 07:21 PM   #1
mr one
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 76
Default

Making aquarium


Hi there, so im in glueing aquarium that i wanted, and today all that silicone jobs and other things i think gone wrong. So my question is that to have about a 1 mm gap between galss panels is must be done thing or not must be done? If it must be done ( i know that almost all of folks who did this had this thing) then i need to dismantle aquarium apart and redo all silicone works, if its not must be done thing then i can leave it. As for aquarium dimensions 800 mm in lengt, 300 mm in height and 300 mm in depth and glass thicknes is 6 mm.
mr one is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2014, 08:16 PM   #2
Bushkill
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bushkill, Pa
Posts: 1,084
Default

If you assembled the tank without applying silicone in the areas where the glass panes meet (inner silicone bead), I would recommend starting over and apply silicone in that area.
__________________
Angelo
Bushkill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:58 AM   #3
mr one
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 76
Default

ummm im a bit confused now, my question in short:
Do i need a 1/16 inch gap between glass pannels?
mr one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 11:51 AM   #4
Bushkill
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bushkill, Pa
Posts: 1,084
Default

For a tank of that size, 1/16 is excessive. 1MM would be fine.
__________________
Angelo
Bushkill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 11:30 AM   #5
mr one
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 76
Default

ok tried last time to redo my tank, and had a bad luck to get a 1mm gap between both ends glasses where they meet a front and back panels also talked to the guy who did couple aquariums and he said its not a such big deal if its not plausible to get that gap between panels so whats left is to wait till silicone cures
mr one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:20 PM   #6
mr one
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 76
Default

got time to test aquarium, and i failed, maybe someone could tell me how to test aquarium if it has no leaks at the same time not having a pool in middle of room? i tired in bath but had to stop after i filled aquarium by half with water, heard something like galss touched a bathtub bottom with a its edges....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	22.1 KB
ID:	338505  

mr one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 06:45 AM   #7
Solcielo lawrencia
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,712
Default

I would think that you wouldn't want any gap. You want to apply silicone between the two panes and press together and let cure. Aquariums with a purposeful gap are flimsy and wiggle when touched. ADA tanks have no gap and barely wiggle at all.

You test tanks outside, not in your tub.
Solcielo lawrencia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 12:31 PM   #8
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 14,128
Default

Never place a tank in a non flat surface. You'll break the glass.
Do it outside or place it in a simple plastic storage bin.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 07:02 PM   #9
mr one
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 76
Default

thanks i have found a solution, palces a big piece of very thick wood and filled it in the bathtub, i dont have a place outside because im living in small condo
mr one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 07:48 AM   #10
mr one
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solcielo lawrencia View Post
I would think that you wouldn't want any gap. You want to apply silicone between the two panes and press together and let cure. Aquariums with a purposeful gap are flimsy and wiggle when touched. ADA tanks have no gap and barely wiggle at all.

You test tanks outside, not in your tub.


really all ada aquariums is siliconed with no gap between glass panels? So my wories was for nothing and i think i could redo a all silicone jobs again
mr one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 08:57 PM   #11
MeCasa
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 509
Default

http://www.aquarticles.com/articles/..._Aquarium.html
MeCasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012