Phosphate in tap....
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2003, 09:22 PM   #1
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Hello, I recently asked one of my friends who found our (tap) water report what (if anything) was in it that is surprising, and he said there is a lot of phosphate... I am guessing it is part of the reason that nearly nothing changes my water params (probably buffers the water a bit). If I test for phosphate, will it show up? I want to find out how much (if any) I need to dose!

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2003, 10:39 PM   #2
digger
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 519
Send a message via ICQ to digger
Default

Tim, are you getting your water from the City of Minnapolis? I checked their report and didn't see anything about Phosphates. I put Mpls tap water straight into my tank, so I'm a bit curious.

-Digger
digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 10:44 PM   #3
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Its not really Minneapolis, its Edina, a suburb. Half of our water is well water so it is really hard. I am just used to putting Minneapolis because when I tell most people Edina, they are like "Is that close to Duluth?" ,lol!

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 11:12 PM   #4
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Tim:
If there is phosphate in your tap water it will show up on a phosphate test.
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 03:06 PM   #5
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Looks like its time to find out how much. I almost hope it is about .5-1 ppm so I don't have to fertalize it!

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sources of phosphate? observant_imp Fertilizers and Water Parameters 2 09-05-2004 06:49 PM
Phosphate and KH measurement Laith Fertilizers and Water Parameters 6 08-27-2004 02:15 PM
Phosphate - tested with Seachem Phosphate Test Kit lokobreed Fertilizers and Water Parameters 5 07-19-2004 04:19 PM
Need Help!! Phosphate off the Scale!! Nick D Fertilizers and Water Parameters 5 03-03-2004 02:36 PM
Phosphate Source DLeDeaux Fertilizers and Water Parameters 10 12-08-2003 11:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012