CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2010, 06:15 AM   #1
Varma
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default

CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate


I am planing to start 55 GAL Fresh water Planted Aquarium and I can really use this community members help in finishing my project.


I am planning to purchase CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb bags
  1. Please suggest howmuch do I need for my 55 Gal (48x13x21).
  2. Do I need any Fertilizer underneeth this Substrate?
  3. DO I need to cover this Substrate with any gravel? Do any one know how soft it is? and how it is working out for them when doing gravel cleanups?
Varma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2010, 06:50 AM   #2
dodohead
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
dodohead's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: bay area, ca
Posts: 351
Default

im not an expert in anyway... but i used eco complete in my 29gal tank.. i used a 20lb bag... i think the rule is 1lb of gravel per gallon of water. i shouldve used 1.5 bags but i didnt wanna buy a 2nd bag

eco-complete is hard.. its like black gravel. i did research on it long ago, and i forgot most of it, but to me its just black gravel soaked in ferts and nutrients.. (probably isnt)

at first it worked really well, but then i got clado algae from someone's plants.now i have a huge duckweed problem.. and it blocks all the light so my plants melted.

u can always add rootmedic tablets to your tank or dose liquid fertilizers if u wish.

i learned the hard way about mixing substrates and gravel.. its real easy to mix, real hard to separate =x
dodohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:00 AM   #3
chad320
Planted Tank VIP
 
chad320's Avatar
 
PTrader: (101/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Spring Valley, IL
Posts: 7,646
Default

I also learned the hard way, but I have alot of experience. I used Eco and osmocote and it wasnt enough. Im used to the Mineralized top soil method(although my recipe isnt the same). I highly recommend putting something for root ferts down first. I feel like ive wasted 6 months by not doing something that ive always done.
__________________
chad320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 11:59 AM   #4
KShoes
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 484
Default

I have 80lbs in my 55 gallon and I want more depth...
KShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 02:46 PM   #5
AoxomoxoA
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
AoxomoxoA's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 873
Default

I used 60-80lbs in a 40 breeder. I liked it but was never completely satisfied. I could not get HC or other smaller/finer plants to root.
It's basically black gravel of varying sizes, only it costs more. I like more uniformity or consistency in size.
I'll still use it but i won't ever pay for it again.
AoxomoxoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 04:38 AM   #6
Varma
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default

Do you have any other substrate or gravel in the same tank or Just Eco-Complete?. Is it soft or Rocky. How long have you had it in tank. What is your openion .

Thanks
Varma
Varma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 04:54 AM   #7
Eden Marel
Planted Tank Guru
 
Eden Marel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (38/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 3,379
Default

I use 1.5 bags of it in my 10g, the other half went into my 5g. I like it, it is pretty good. Stem plants tend to escape it though, so you need to use strategy. Make sure you don't have trumpet snails or any other snails that dig or else you'll have a hard time with stems.

It is like white gravel with this black porous stuff covering it I think. I had some black pieces that have some white parts exposed. Use some root tabs will be great!

I use it for several months now. It doesn't really afect your water parameters. It doesn't melt away either. Depending on what fish you plan on stocking this may or may not be the substrate of choice for you!
__________________
Eden Marel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 04:15 PM   #8
mpurcell
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Steedman, MO
Posts: 1
Default

I'm a newbie and thinking about using Eco complete in my 10 gal betta tank. Not sure what plants to use or if I will need any kind of liquid fertilizer.
mpurcell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 05:23 PM   #9
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,766
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varma View Post
I am planing to start 55 GAL Fresh water Planted Aquarium and I can really use this community members help in finishing my project.


I am planning to purchase CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb bags
  1. Please suggest howmuch do I need for my 55 Gal (48x13x21).
  2. Do I need any Fertilizer underneeth this Substrate?
  3. DO I need to cover this Substrate with any gravel? Do any one know how soft it is? and how it is working out for them when doing gravel cleanups?
if you can afford Eco, that mean you can spend the same on aquasoil, i had a bad experience with Eco and highly recommend Aqua soil over any other substrate, i use 3-4 bags of Aqua soil in my 50g. if you still want Eco, i have used 5 bags in my 50g, so you get an idea about how much you need.

Eco does not have anything in it, its just high in CEC and you must add root tabs from day one for any benefit. Aqua soil on the other hand is full of fertilizers and high in CEC. it is also peat based soil which will be more beneficial for the plants anyway.

i hope this info helps
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 05:48 PM   #10
carpalstunna
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
carpalstunna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: canton, ohio
Posts: 481
Default

What was your bad experience?
carpalstunna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 06:05 PM   #11
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,766
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carpalstunna View Post
What was your bad experience?
i decided not to discus it, it could change people mind toward Eco.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:45 PM   #12
vincenz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
vincenz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (55/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happi View Post
i decided not to discus it, it could change people mind toward Eco.
Why don't you want to discuss it? If a product worked or didn't work, you should say why so the community can get some insight.
vincenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 05:27 PM   #13
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,766
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincenz View Post
Why don't you want to discuss it? If a product worked or didn't work, you should say why so the community can get some insight.
there are mixed answers, you will find some agree with me and some dont.

Read here:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/su...ete-sucks.html
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:01 PM   #14
elwray
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
Default

For reference, I just used 3 bags (total of 60lbs) of Eco-Complete to fill my 40g hexagon long to an average depth of 2.5-3". It's essentially a similar size to the standard 55g but with the front corners cut off. I would suggest at least 4 bags for a 55g, and realistically 5 bags (total 100lbs) would make a nice substrate layer.

I have no issues with vacuuming it (it does not suck up into the hose), and overall I do like it. It is a bit light though, so unless your plants have a good root structure you may have some trouble getting them to stay planted.

Some people suggest a thin layer of peat beneath the Eco-Complete.
elwray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 03:44 PM   #15
jersysman
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thorndale, PA
Posts: 181
Send a message via Yahoo to jersysman
Default

I have been using Eco-Complete for years and have never had any problems with growing things with it. As others have stated, sometimes stem plants have trouble staying down, so I started planting more that one in the hole and that seems to work okay. You definitely have to use root tabs for your root feeders. It holds up well though and I would recommend it.
__________________
Rena Pimp # 171 2 Rena Filstar XP3s
jersysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cleaning, eco-complete, fertilizer, gravel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012