DIY reactor for pump with too much flow
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 04:29 AM   #1
kevinh
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: arlington, texas
Posts: 2
Default

DIY reactor for pump with too much flow


ok i have an idea for a bypass line on a co2 reactor but wan't some feedback before i glue it all together, so far i'm $30 invested in the actual reactor pictured here. now this is a rough fit and it will look much better and glued obviously when i'm done.

i'm using a FX5 filter for my supply line.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3419.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	420018  

kevinh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Yesterday, 04:59 AM   #2
dcutl002
Planted Member
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 285
Default

I really like the clear PVC. One thing that I wish I had done was to put the heater in the bypass tube. That would be one less distraction inside the tank.

But, what you have looks good.
__________________

KESSIL OWNERS CLUB 2 A360WEs, 1 A150WE, Spectral Controller
DUECES!
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Yesterday, 05:07 AM   #3
kevinh
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: arlington, texas
Posts: 2
Default

thanks dcutl002 the heater idea never occurred to me. if i did that i'd put it in with unions because i'd hate to have to cut this all up and replumb if the heater went bad.

I got the clear pvc from a pool supplier. i get it in 10' sections. its used for backwash pipe sections.
kevinh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 12:44 AM   #4
PlantedRich
Planted Tank Guru
 
PlantedRich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Posts: 5,301
Default

Pool supply is not one I had thought about for clear. May have to write that down.
Looks like a massive piece but the FX5 is a massive filter.
I don't see the brass fitting and the fitting ,etc. it requires as being needed. I run my tubing directly into the side of the piping through an undersized hole and it works well without leaks.
But then that is a coulda , woulda, shoulda thing again?
PlantedRich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 01:00 AM   #5
Dead2fall
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nj
Posts: 401
Default

Shouldn't the CO2 input be at the bottom of the reactor chamber and not the top? Also I'd move the ball valve to the right side of the T and another in the same position at the bottom as I think you'll get water in both paths the way it is now. Like it'll work with the ball valve closed, but when you open it up to bypass I don't think you'll really be bypassing. I'd also put a threaded T at the bottom of the reactor itself with a clean out plug for ease of draining or any potential maintenance.
Dead2fall is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 01:18 AM   #6
jrill
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Eastern Kentucky
Posts: 772
Default

I think dead is correct. The co2 feed usually goes at the bottom so it fights the water current that tries to force it down. That increases exposure time and dissolves more co2,
jrill is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 01:37 AM   #7
Dead2fall
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nj
Posts: 401
Default

I mean in theory this setup should still push it downward I guess, but it could end up doing the dissolving further up the line with the input where it is.
Dead2fall is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:00 AM   #8
dcutl002
Planted Member
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 285
Default

He's fine. Turbulence will be right at the 90 degree elbow and should quickly dissolve the CO2. There is also a "U" shape at the top of the reactor preventing gas from climbing up the hose. I would actually put the inlet about 2-3 inches from the top on the clear pipe vice the bottom. It really depends on your flow.

Kevinh, if you start to see small bubbles in your water coming from the out let pipe, you may want to restrict your bypass a bit forcing the CO2 towards the reactor.
__________________

KESSIL OWNERS CLUB 2 A360WEs, 1 A150WE, Spectral Controller
DUECES!

Last edited by dcutl002; Today at 02:08 AM.. Reason: clarification
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:09 AM   #9
burr740
Wannabe Guru
 
burr740's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bama
Posts: 1,143
Default

How tall is it?
__________________
burr740 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:13 AM   #10
Dead2fall
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nj
Posts: 401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcutl002 View Post
He's fine. Turbulence will be right at the 90 degree elbow and should quickly dissolve the CO2. There is also a "U" shape at the top of the reactor preventing gas from climbing up the hose. I would actually put the inlet about 2-3 inches from the top on the clear pipe vice the bottom. It really depends on your flow.

Kevinh, if you start to see small bubbles in your water coming from the out let pipe, you may want to restrict your bypass a bit forcing the CO2 towards the reactor.
If it's fine this way, why are we using reactors and not just a 90 creating turbulence and some tubing? Plus he loses out on the cool bubbles visible through that nice clear pipe! Lol
Dead2fall is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:16 AM   #11
dcutl002
Planted Member
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead2fall View Post
If it's fine this way, why are we using reactors and not just a 90 creating turbulence and some tubing? Plus he loses out on the cool bubbles visible through that nice clear pipe! Lol
True. I had to look at it a second time to see what you were talking about. He definitely doesn't want the CO2 backing into the bypass. He should have put it lower, but he can adjust the flow and should be OK. But hey, that was a good catch!
__________________

KESSIL OWNERS CLUB 2 A360WEs, 1 A150WE, Spectral Controller
DUECES!
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:18 AM   #12
Dead2fall
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nj
Posts: 401
Default

I may be out of the loop here, but is this some different reactor that relies on a bypass to work? Or is this just op trying to create a bypass to skip the reactor?
Dead2fall is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:26 AM   #13
dcutl002
Planted Member
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 285
Default

here is a couple that I built. I do not have a bypass though.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-324963-7.html

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...1&d=1417833964
__________________

KESSIL OWNERS CLUB 2 A360WEs, 1 A150WE, Spectral Controller
DUECES!
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:30 AM   #14
Dead2fall
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nj
Posts: 401
Default

I run a cerges myself, just wasn't sure if this was some new style dependent on a bypass system for some reason. Op will need to isolate the reactor itself with two ball valves for the bypass to work imo.
Dead2fall is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 02:46 AM   #15
dcutl002
Planted Member
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead2fall View Post
I may be out of the loop here, but is this some different reactor that relies on a bypass to work? Or is this just op trying to create a bypass to skip the reactor?
The idea of the bypass is to lower the flow in the reactor if the pump is too strong right? Which should have allowed for the OP to put the CO2 lower as you suggested. but now the OP is going to need the flow strong enough in the reactor inlet to push the CO2 into the reactor, else it may back up into the bypass undissolved.

A typical Rex Grigg has the inlet at the top at least all of the ones that i have seen.

Bump:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead2fall View Post
I run a cerges myself, just wasn't sure if this was some new style dependent on a bypass system for some reason. Op will need to isolate the reactor itself with two ball valves for the bypass to work imo.
Yeah, I actually like the Cerges over the Rex Grigg that i built. I will say that I will never go back to a diffuser. They are so inefficient. As far as the bypass goes, the OP says that his filter was too strong.
__________________

KESSIL OWNERS CLUB 2 A360WEs, 1 A150WE, Spectral Controller
DUECES!

Last edited by dcutl002; Today at 02:57 AM.. Reason: clarification
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012