Will this over flow system work properly?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Today, 04:46 AM   #1
mef1975
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 61
Default

Will this over flow system work properly?


I'm totally new to this over flow stuff and am having a hard time understanding why it works. Will the siphon restart itself back up after a power outage? Do I really need the carb? Would you all also answer the question in the diagram?

http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/p...ps9fc5869b.jpg
mef1975 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Today, 05:21 AM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,364
Default

No, it doesn't, but the water level in the second tank has to be below that in the first tank. The flow rate from the 1st to the 2nd tank will be proportional to the difference in water levels. With as small a difference as the diagram shows, the return pump will need to be throttled down to a very low flow rate to avoid overflowing the 1st tank. But, if that tank to tank water pipe is a large diameter pipe you would have a better chance.

I acknowledge that I may be wrong about this.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 05:27 AM   #3
mef1975
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
I acknowledge that I may be wrong about this.

Yeah, the 2nd tank's water level is only a couple inches lower than the 1st tank, so yeah, the flow rate will be slow, and I'll adjust the pump to make sure it doesn't overflow the first tank. Thanks for suggesting the larger diameter there.

I wonder, do you think a triple run of 1/4" polyethylene tubing would be good? So maybe I'll use 1/2" in the first tank.

Anyhow, I'm concerned that the entire horizontal portion between the 1st and 2nd tanks will empty out when there is a power outage, and I can't imagine what's going to get the water over the tank's edge again once the power starts.

Last edited by mef1975; Today at 06:02 AM.. Reason: need clarification as to why it works, or doesn't.
mef1975 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012