How to make 4 dh soluble for drop checker?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2014, 07:42 AM   #1
Kavak
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Iran
Posts: 36
Default

How to make 4 dh soluble for drop checker?


Hi
I bought u.p dropchecker for my nano tank.it was wrote on its box to use aqua water for drop checker.i did it.but it isnt work well i mean color changing is toooooo late.i saw in forume that is best to use 4 dh water.
1.i couldnt find it for sale.how i can make it?
2.is need to buy ph tester or dropcker is enough to show ph and co2?for shrimp tank
3.for showing right ph should kh of water and dropchecker same?i mean if i use 4 dh water for dropcker but kh of aqua water be diffrent .is ph still right or both of dropchecker and aqua kh should be same?
Many tnx

Last edited by Kavak; 10-20-2014 at 07:43 AM.. Reason: A
Kavak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2014, 10:00 AM   #2
lee739
Algae Grower
 
lee739's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default

Drop checkers do lag way behind actual CO2 levels - you need to wait for the CO2 in the tank water to equilibrate with the water in the drop checker, using 4 DH water won't change that.
The drop checker won't react to anything other than CO2 - it won't reflect changing tank pH if it occurs for other reasons....
lee739 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 01:08 PM   #3
Kavak
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Iran
Posts: 36
Default

Tnx alot.so isnt need to make 4 dh water for it?
Kavak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:42 PM   #4
PlantedRich
Planted Tank Guru
 
PlantedRich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Posts: 4,548
Default

Yes, 4dKH is needed.
Distilled water is used for this.


The drop checker works like this. When the tank water has more CO2 in it, the air above the drop checker will pick up more CO2. This air is then exposed to the 4dKH fluid on the other side of the divider in the drop checker. In this way the 4dKH picks up more CO2 is present and changes colors.
Like doing a PH test except that the air makes the color change instead of the drops we add?
It does take time for the air above the tank water and above the 4dKH to change. Slow process that can't be used to see right away any adjustments made. But it can help to see the changes in an hour or two>

Bump: Much more and better info here??

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=136571

Last edited by PlantedRich; 10-20-2014 at 02:44 PM.. Reason: additions
PlantedRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:38 PM   #5
lee739
Algae Grower
 
lee739's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default

I suspect the manufacturers suggest approx 15ppm CO2 is a good target - it hapens to be the level that 4 KH water will be reduced to about pH 6.9-7.0, providing a nice green colour in the checker.
lee739 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012