DIY Automated dosing/topoff - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2005, 02:09 AM   #31
scolley
Planted Tank Guru
 
scolley's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: connecticut
Posts: 3,276
Default

D*mn Andrew! I wish you had seen this earlier too!

I've booked marked that - great stuff! I'm sure will need it soon. Thanks for the post!
__________________
Steve - 33g reef and a 180g planted in need of a re-scape.
scolley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2005, 02:21 AM   #32
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasserpest
These are the Raindrip drippers from HD, one side black, one side red, and they come in 1/2 gal/h and 1 gal/hour flavors. But they are made for 20+ psi so I doubt a powerhead would get them dripping at all.
I was at OSH today and I saw the ones you're talking about. So with the low pressure of the powerheads the 5gph (or even 12gph) emitters may be a better bet.
__________________
óBill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 02:26 AM   #33
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechoJunkie
Yeah I have a pump that delivers 0.16ml/min so a 6-8 minute cycle each day should deliver what I require. My concern is if I'm injecting what is such a small volume that by the time it fills a non-return valve it might be sitting there for a while before it enters the water column.
My only concern here would be the ferts crystalizing and clogging up the tube...especially if you're using really small ID delivery tubing. I have my PPS solution mixed in a water bottle and use the cap for measuring the doses. After a couple of days the residue from the cap threads forms a decent crust on the bottle.

Since I can't see backflow being a problem with the pumps so I plan to keep my drip tube submerged to prevent this from happening.
__________________
óBill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 12:49 PM   #34
scolley
Planted Tank Guru
 
scolley's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: connecticut
Posts: 3,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bharada
After a couple of days the residue from the cap threads forms a decent crust on the bottle.
Wouldn't that be due to evaporation? And if so, if there is no air in the tubing, I would assume there is nothing to fear, regardless of diameter. No?
__________________
Steve - 33g reef and a 180g planted in need of a re-scape.
scolley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 01:33 PM   #35
SCMurphy
PT Biologist
 
SCMurphy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 3,209
Default

I'd be easier to reduce the concentration of the solution that you use in the automatic feeder. You'd have to increase the amount of solution you dose, but that should be easy to do.
__________________
Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

That IS an aquascape, it's titled "The Vacant Lot".
SCMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 02:46 PM   #36
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scolley
Wouldn't that be due to evaporation? And if so, if there is no air in the tubing, I would assume there is nothing to fear, regardless of diameter. No?
I'm more concerned that the solution would start evaporating from the tip in...forming a plug at the end of the line.
__________________
óBill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 03:50 PM   #37
scolley
Planted Tank Guru
 
scolley's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: connecticut
Posts: 3,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bharada
I'm more concerned that the solution would start evaporating from the tip in...forming a plug at the end of the line.
Ah - now I understand... This is an issue if, and only if, you have this set up as an open drip. Not an issue for inline injection. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
Steve - 33g reef and a 180g planted in need of a re-scape.
scolley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 06:41 PM   #38
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scolley
Ah - now I understand... This is an issue if, and only if, you have this set up as an open drip. Not an issue for inline injection. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
You are correct, sir! Since I don't plan on injecting inline I'll just keep the drip tube submerged..
__________________
óBill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 12:13 PM   #39
TechoJunkie
Algae Grower
 
TechoJunkie's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 29
Default

Ok. So I think I'll submerge the tube and be done with it. At 1/16" ID it won't backflow and empty the tank in a hurry (not at all with the pump connected).
__________________
Brett


145G (550l), 4x150W 5000K MH, Laterite in Gravel, DIY Substrate heating, Pinpoint pH controller, Pressurised CO2, DIY Reactor, 300W heater, Ehiem.
Vallisnera Spirallis, Giant Vallisnera, Microsorum Pteropus, Vesicularia dubyana, Echinodorus Bleheri, Anubia, Crytocoryne Balansae
Angels, Otos, Cories, SAEs, Glow Light Tetras, Lemon Tetras, Black Neons
TechoJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 03:25 AM   #40
Betowess
Planted Tank Guru
 
Betowess's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skagit County, Washington State
Posts: 3,199
Default

Anyone see any reason why one couldn't put a T on an SP100 or SP200 peristaltic pump and run from one resevoir of trace ferts to two tanks of similar size (a 90 gallon with a lot of substrate and wood and a 65 gallon with less substrate and very little wood). Perhaps I could slow the feed rate by changing the amount of hose to one of the tanks?? Or is this $65 dollars savings asking for serious trouble?
__________________




Three Tanks...Eheim 2128 & XP3-90G, Eheim 2128-65G, Eheim 2232-25G.... Tek 4x54 watt T5-90G, Aqualight 96watt PC 65G low tech, 65 watt Aqualight-25G.... Hydors-90G & 65G ... Flourite in 90, 65, & 25 Gallons, .... Auto Water Change/Auto dosing on 90 & 65 gallon..... AGA member......
Betowess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 03:51 AM   #41
filipnoy85
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
filipnoy85's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 429
Default

Whoa... talk about bring a thread back to life!

I figure if you could afford an autodosing perstaltic pump, you could probably go the extra $65 and avoid the risk....

As for trouble, are you worried about over dosing the 65 or under dosing the 90? I guess under dosing would be better than over dosing if you fertilize from the same line.
__________________
"What we do in life, echoes in eternity." - Gladiator

If I could harness the power of the sun, I'd focus it on my plants and watch them grow.
filipnoy85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 03:52 AM   #42
dipan
Planted Member
 
dipan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Betowess View Post
Anyone see any reason why one couldn't put a T on an SP100 or SP200 peristaltic pump and run from one resevoir of trace ferts to two tanks of similar size (a 90 gallon with a lot of substrate and wood and a 65 gallon with less substrate and very little wood). Perhaps I could slow the feed rate by changing the amount of hose to one of the tanks?? Or is this $65 dollars savings asking for serious trouble?
You could use one of these for less than a buck to increase resistance on the smaller tank line. A longer line would also increase resistance and decrease flow. This would be adjustable, though ... Might take some playing with to get it just right ...

linky

Or, a more expensive option, but more accurate:

linky 2
dipan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:43 AM   #43
Betowess
Planted Tank Guru
 
Betowess's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Skagit County, Washington State
Posts: 3,199
Default

Yeah. dipan. Great links! I've been trying to remember the Aquatic Eco systems name for a while. I just bookmarked it. I could definately use either of those for my two different AS 606 pumps dosing the macros. I ended up putting some lead weight in a brass tee on one to slow down the flow to get the right amount of dose out after tediously adjusting hose length etc.

Still trying to decide if I might try just one or two of the SP100 peristaltics. These links make getting just one of the peristaltics a definate possibility.Thanks again.

Also, thanks Flipnoy.
__________________




Three Tanks...Eheim 2128 & XP3-90G, Eheim 2128-65G, Eheim 2232-25G.... Tek 4x54 watt T5-90G, Aqualight 96watt PC 65G low tech, 65 watt Aqualight-25G.... Hydors-90G & 65G ... Flourite in 90, 65, & 25 Gallons, .... Auto Water Change/Auto dosing on 90 & 65 gallon..... AGA member......
Betowess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 01:50 AM   #44
donaldbyrd
Planted Member
 
donaldbyrd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lakeland Florida
Posts: 229
Default

Just curious for those of you that are auto dosing into the tank do you have the line in the water or above it and dripping into the tank? Also how do you have the tubing attached to keep it in place?
__________________
55 gallon low tech
150 gallon. eco complete, 330 watt cf, eheim 2128 and 2028, pressurized co2 with am 1000 reactor, pinpoint ph controller
donaldbyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 03:54 PM   #45
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,091
Default

Wow, thanks for bringing up this post... back when it was new, it inspired me to do the powerhead dosing which is still working great for macros.

Anyways... If you run it for one or a few minutes each day, you would probably want to submerge the line, to prevent the slowly dripping fertilizer from drying up and clogging the outflow.

That leads to two issues... 1) water creeps back into the dosing line and 2) there is a possibility of a siphon and water on your carpet. I guess when using peristaltic pumps neither are an issue. Using a tiny hole as the outlet would remedy both issues as well.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012