Correct height of substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2002, 02:14 AM   #1
Kit
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: California
Posts: 45
Default

Hi

I was wondering if I had enough substrate in my 29 gallon...I have 100% flourite and it stands 2.5 inches from my tanks bottom. Too little for a planted tank? I was going to buy another bag...
Thankyas

Kit
Kit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2002, 12:48 PM   #2
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

I started out with 2 1/2" and found it hard to keep some plants rooted. Another bag would definitely make it easier. Better to get it over with now, and get the cloudiness away, then to want to add it later, when there are tons of plants in the tank already.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2002, 12:52 AM   #3
KyleT
Planted Tank VIP
 
KyleT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,533
Default

I definately agree with GulfCoast. You could do fine with 2.5 inches however once plants start to get really rooted they may need a deeper substrate. Some might struggle to get rooted in a thin substrate like that.

Plus with the mess the flourite makes when you add it to a tank it is definately adding it now!

Kyle
__________________
Please Send all Support Requests to forumadmin
Bit Of Nothing - Personal Blog
KyleT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 04:39 AM   #4
Kit
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: California
Posts: 45
Default

Ok

I added more flourite yesterday and the level of it is now about 3-4 inches. Looks like a lot but that is what everyone on this board told me :hehe:

thanks everyone, because I would of added the other stuff then would of had to take it all out to add more so thank you!

Kit

P.S.... oh and when I have a camera, I'll post a pic in the photo album.

Kit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 01:12 PM   #5
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

Can't wait to see the pictures! It does look awkward at first having a thick gravel bed, but after a while, it actually looks unusual to see a tank with a "thin" bed of only 2 inches!
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soil Substrate review and coment request pastorww Substrate 5 05-06-2005 12:59 PM
Sloping Substrate Rolo Substrate 6 08-18-2004 06:07 PM
Poop on substrate soil/rock/sand mitchell2345 Substrate 9 08-10-2004 01:29 AM
substrate buffering ... what does it mean? AussieTanker Substrate 6 03-31-2004 04:46 PM
Nutrients in Substrate aquaphish General Planted Tank Discussion 6 03-10-2003 01:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012