Tetras and Gouramis in the same tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish

Old 06-14-2010, 05:12 PM   #1
cmf0106
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Tetras and Gouramis in the same tank?

Hello, I am currently doing research for possible inhabitants for my tank. I have read that Tetras and Gouramis can live together; however, some of the sources state to use caution, but do not clearly state why.

Would someone clearly explain why caution is needed when these two species live together? In addition, what protocols may be taken to avoid any potential problems?

Thanks
cmf0106 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2010, 05:20 PM   #2
Kyclops
Algae Grower

I'm no expert on fish, but from what [little] experience I have, Gouramis can be a tad aggressive at times. Not saying they will be, but keep an eye out if they would.
Kyclops is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2010, 06:01 PM   #3
blackandyellow
Planted Tank Enthusiast

In principle I donīt see that much problem, but the tetras could nip the Gouramis "whiskers" and I think those are very sensitive.

Blue gouramies are more aggressive but Pearl Gouramis and Dwarf Gouramies are more peaceful

I have seen tanks with Blue gouramis and tiger barbs, and those little guys are way more aggressive than most tetras.

Specifically which tetras and gouramis are you thinking about?
blackandyellow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2010, 06:25 PM   #4
cmf0106
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackandyellow View Post
Specifically which tetras and gouramis are you thinking about?