Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor - Page 29
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2012, 06:35 PM   #421
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusExCalibur View Post
Welp, finally got things figured out. 3/4" PVC coupling DOES indeed fit inside the filter, but only if it's the slip-threaded type connector. Go figure.

Anyways, everything's put together and the PVC cement + primer has been dried for at least 10 hours now, way past it's proper curing time. I know it should be safe to run at this point, but should I be concerned that I can still smell the cement?
Even after 2-3 days mine smelled like cement, but I washed it out, went ahead and connected it and haven't had any problems since, and that was like 2+ months ago I think..
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2012, 09:43 AM   #422
aquatic serenity
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: delaware
Posts: 117
Default

with my 20" reactor I am also noticing an added benefit: less CO2 consumed because it is so completely dissolved in the 20" chamber..
I need less bps than with my 10" canister...
anyone else notice this ??
aquatic serenity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:56 PM   #423
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquatic serenity View Post
with my 20" reactor I am also noticing an added benefit: less CO2 consumed because it is so completely dissolved in the 20" chamber..
I need less bps than with my 10" canister...
anyone else notice this ??
I haven't got my up and running yet , How big is your pump?
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:44 AM   #424
chuckz07
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Decatur, Al
Posts: 57
Default

First off, sorry for the cruddy cell phone pics...

Ok, I decided to show my setup thanks to this thread. I've been running it for awhile now and I like it. I built many RG style reactors and wasn't happy. To be honest, I built this quite a while back and then chunked it in the corner to try something different along the RG style. Came back to this a few months ago though. Anyway, it is being pushed via a Fluval 405 and the dual scrubbies sure helped with the bubbles. The other day I bought the stand so I'll be adding some valves and such to make cleaning easier.



Now here is something interesting I found at HD in the irrigation dept. For the cost I decided WTH and tried it. The inlet port swivels. I was leary of it leaking but it has been running for a couple months with not issues. It doesn't leak in or out. Kinda makes things a little less bulky.



Here is the fitting:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_234223-1029-...sales_dollar|1
chuckz07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 11:40 PM   #425
gh0zt
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 51
Default

Just finished mine and I had a question, can anyone tell me why my reactor is not filling all the way up? I can turn my canister filter off, have the reactor fill all the way up, but as soon as I start my filter again the reactor empties to this same spot. Any help is appreciated.

gh0zt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:43 AM   #426
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,480
Default

You have an air leak in the intake line somewhere before the reactor - are you using sponges or anything in the reactor that would make the canister pull harder than it normally would? That's classic right there....clogged prefilter or other cause of leaning out the pump somehow.
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 09:02 AM   #427
gh0zt
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 51
Default

I stepped out for 6 hrs and came home to a completly full reactor. Not exactly sure how that happened, but I assume outflow was faster than a 20" reactor housing can fill up so it filled little by little.
gh0zt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 04:25 AM   #428
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gh0zt View Post
I stepped out for 6 hrs and came home to a completly full reactor. Not exactly sure how that happened, but I assume outflow was faster than a 20" reactor housing can fill up so it filled little by little.
Trap Air , The housing with a Bleed Valve or button would had been faster to bleed the trap air out.
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:26 AM   #429
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,226
Default

For mine, I just finally got rid of the minimal bubbles I had by just putting a small sponge filter from an overflow box (very airy). Now my water is as clear as could be and still have decent flow and good CO2 distribution. I use a Fluval 305 also for flow rating purposes.
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:07 PM   #430
gh0zt
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 51
Default

I'm noticing that my reactor behaves normally when the co2 is off. Put a drop checker into my tank over night and its bright yellow even with no co2. I think my problem is way too much co2 getting pushed into the reactor.
gh0zt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:41 PM   #431
audioaficionado
Planted Tank Guru
 
audioaficionado's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Medford, Orygun
Posts: 2,198
Default

I was able to keep it bright yellow even on yeastie-beastie style CO2. I'm almost out of CO2 on my 20# tank. It will last another few weeks even at 300psi LOL. This tank has lasted since last summer. There is just not the wastage you get with bubble diffusers.
__________________
Steve

45 gal tall high-tech : 2-23-12 update
Complete CO2 Leak Test : How to build a CO2 regulator


Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
Growing older is mandatory, growing up is optional.
My advice is free and worth every penny.
audioaficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:05 PM   #432
jcgd
Wannabe Guru
 
jcgd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,985
Send a message via MSN to jcgd
Default

Has anyone tried a phosban reactor? I may lik one up today and try it instead of the whole house filter housing. Same general design, it just made to house Purigen and the like. I found one for $50, 4.5" by 15".
jcgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:24 AM   #433
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgd View Post
Has anyone tried a phosban reactor? I may lik one up today and try it instead of the whole house filter housing. Same general design, it just made to house Purigen and the like. I found one for $50, 4.5" by 15".
Had a LFS use them on a 125g display tank with a 20lb co2 tank. IMO: I think it would work better on 55g tanks and below .
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 07:44 PM   #434
Trickerie
Nerd
 
Trickerie's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 707
Send a message via Skype™ to Trickerie
Default

Heres my reactor. How long can I expect the air bubbles being sprayed out? Im guessing its normal until all of the trapped air is released.

Trickerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:11 PM   #435
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,226
Default

day or two and you should be fine.
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012