Emperor 280 in a 29: Too much flow for little fish?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 05-29-2010, 09:23 PM   #1
Stemwinder
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)

Emperor 280 in a 29: Too much flow for little fish?

Hello everyone. I'm brand new to the hobby and the forum (although I've been lurking for a while).

I'm excited about getting my first planted tank (indeed, my first tank at all) up and running. I've got a 29 gallon tank. It's 30" by 12" and about 18.5" tall. After reading through all of the posts here I settled on Eco-complete for my substrate. I've decided that I can rig up my own CO2 setup. The last two things I need to get up and going is a filter and lights.

I've been looking at the Emperor 280 filter and it looks like a pretty solid deal for the cost. I can find it on Amazon with free shipping for $40.99 (instead of the $63 at the lfs). My only concern is that it doesn't allow you to control the flow rate and I'm afraid it might be too fast for the fish I plan to get started with (tetras, barbs, gouramis, rummynose, shrimp, etc). I see that lots of people love the canister filters, but it looks like the price jump is significant. Is it really worth the extra money? <The easy answer, obviously, is yes!!! But wait...

The message boards, here and elsewhere, are a great help. But sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the amount of info out there. In one post you'll see someone say, "Whatever you do, don't skimp on your lights" and in another post you'll see someone else say, "Don't get a cheapo filter" and in yet another post someone will say, "CO2 is the most important thing in an aquarium. Ideally I could afford the best of everything. In reality, I can't afford ANY of it (which obviously hasn't stopped me from getting started).