About to install a water softner, does that mean the end?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 01:09 AM   #1
Tracy
Algae Grower
 
Tracy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mounds View, Minnesota
Posts: 78
Default

About to install a water softner, does that mean the end?


?? It's been one year since I began this hobby, and I was just starting to really like it. Will it work with softened water?
Tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2010, 01:21 AM   #2
OverStocked
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (76/94%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Default

I use softened water. Is it ideal? NO. Can it work, yes.

Also, your cold water in many parts of the house should not be softened, so find that out and then you can use that water. Obviously hot will be so no changing that.
OverStocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 01:23 AM   #3
cfi on the fly
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: councill bluffs, Iowa
Posts: 176
Default

Not at all, when they install it just tell them that you want access to unsoftened water. The guy that did mine just put a simple faucet like output attached to a hose where the main water line hooks into the softener-no extra charge. I use this water and mix it with my RO water, but I suppose if you have been using regular water then this setup should work as long as you can get your water to your tank from the faucet- I have to use a pump from my holding tank that sits next to my water softener in the basement to get it up one flight of stairs.
cfi on the fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 02:06 AM   #4
volatile
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
volatile's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 699
Default

Check to see if the outside faucet (the one for watering your grass or washing your car or whatever) goes through the softener. It probably doesn't, and you can continue using this as a water supply for your tank.
volatile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 02:37 AM   #5
Tracy
Algae Grower
 
Tracy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mounds View, Minnesota
Posts: 78
Default

but that water is cold. How do you do 50% water changes with cold water?
Tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 03:12 AM   #6
idontknow
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
idontknow's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 533
Default

This isnt ideal but depending on the size of your tank you could get a large heavy duty rubber maid tub they sell em in at least a 30 gallon size. Fill this up with the unsoftened water and stick in a heater and a water pump and let it heat up overnight before filling the tank with that water. If your lazy like me you could even get a small pump to pump the water from the tub into the tank rather than scooping it in

As far as getting unsoftened water some water softeners have a bypass otherwise like mentioned above have them add in an access point before the softener.
idontknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 03:54 AM   #7
bigboij
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
bigboij's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracy View Post
but that water is cold. How do you do 50% water changes with cold water?
have them put in taps for both cold and hot pre-water softener?
__________________
my 20 gal high
Big's Fluval Ebi
SunSun Pimp #2
Fluval Ebi Pimp #4
bigboij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 04:16 AM   #8
Do you guys remember Pogs
Algae Grower
 
Do you guys remember Pogs's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Flower Mound, Tx.
Posts: 33
Default

It is my understanding that water softeners replace the calsium in the water with sodium. I think I read this in the Beginners Guide to Freshwater Aquariums vol. 1. (TFH publication) Long story short, it is a very unnatural form of water and it is not good for your fish. It wound be best if you rigged up a bypas to the softener.
Do you guys remember Pogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:26 AM   #9
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Do you guys remember Pogs View Post
It is my understanding that water softeners replace the calsium in the water with sodium. I think I read this in the Beginners Guide to Freshwater Aquariums vol. 1. (TFH publication) Long story short, it is a very unnatural form of water and it is not good for your fish. It wound be best if you rigged up a bypas to the softener.
Indeed, most water softeners that use a sodium salt will replace the calcium in the water with sodium. However, it is possible to buy (more expensive) potassium salts, which will not have the same undesirable effects as the sodium salt.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:49 AM   #10
volatile
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
volatile's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracy View Post
but that water is cold. How do you do 50% water changes with cold water?
I use the outside faucet and hose to fill up some 5 gallon jugs. I then add Prime and store the jugs inside my house or garage. By the time I use these jugs (which could be days/weeks later) the water is at room temperature.

Are you adding the water directly into your tank from the faucet?
volatile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 01:31 PM   #11
idontknow
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
idontknow's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 533
Default

do you need a special softener for the potassium salt?
idontknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:52 PM   #12
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idontknow View Post
do you need a special softener for the potassium salt?
No, your water softener should be able to take either the sodium or the potassium salt.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:39 PM   #13
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,124
Default

For warming the water faster get a large stainless steel pot and heat some water on the stove. I also use an enamelled roast pan that spans 2 burners.
1 stainless steel pot in a 5 gallon bucket (roughly 1/2 gallon of water almost boiling + 3 gallons of cold water) heats the water plenty for even my warmest tanks.
4 roast pans in a 32 gallon Rubbermaid Brute (on wheels) warms this volume just fine.

Or you can get the cold water from the softener bypass, and the hot water from the tap (softened water). That is still some softened water, but a lot less, probably not enough to worry about. Run the hot water tap until the water is really hot, that way you use less to get the final mix you want.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 09:02 PM   #14
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idontknow View Post
do you need a special softener for the potassium salt?
It tends to gum up more in the chemical storage drum then salt does. Installing a kinetico system the supplier recommended against it even though more money would have left my pocket to go with a potassium based unit.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 10:03 PM   #15
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkndracer View Post
It tends to gum up more in the chemical storage drum then salt does. Installing a kinetico system the supplier recommended against it even though more money would have left my pocket to go with a potassium based unit.
Interesting. I don't think potassium chloride is any more hygroscopic than sodium chloride.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012