36 Gallon Bowfront, Native Fish
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2010, 01:57 AM   #1
MWBradshaw
Algae Grower
 
MWBradshaw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: White Bear Lake, MN
Posts: 128
Default

36 Gallon Bowfront, Native Fish


I just purchased a 36 Gallon Bowfront from a LFS and I'm very excited about it. I had fish when I was a kid and I loved it. I currently have a 20 Gallon Long terrarium which is housing 3 tree frogs, a toad, and a frog tadpole. It's been a lot of fun but now I've decided it's time to follow through and a want I've had ever since I was a young child. As a kid I always wanted two things: a wet/dry terrarium for amphibians and reptiles (CHECK) and a fish tank with native MN fish species. Now I know a lot of people think it's illegal so I've attached the legal statement from the fishing regulations of MN. I plan to catch a couple real small yellow bullhead (non-game species) from a nearby pond and then the rest of what I put in the tank will be bought at a LFS about 20 minutes away. They sell all kinds of native species there !!

From Pg. 10 of the 2010 Minnesota Fishing Regulations:


Quote:
Transport of fish for display in a home aquarium is legal under the following conditions:
Game fish purchased from an authorized licensee transported with the necessary documents (such as a sales receipt).
Anglers 16 or under may transport legally caught largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, yellow perch, rock bass, black crappie, white crappie, bluegill, pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orangespotted sunfish, and black, yellow, and brown bullhead. No more than four of each species may be transported at any one time, and any individual fish can be no longer than 10 inches. At no time may water from infested waters be transported. (See DNR Web site)


Now this is what I currently have for the tank (going to change soon):
Filter: Aqueon Power Filter 30
Heater: Aqueon Submersible Heater 200w
Lighting: Deluxe Full hood with a 17w T8 24" bulb
Substrate: MTS (hopefully) capped with Flourite original

I plan to have a bullhead or two and a couple crawfish to inhabit the bottom layer of my aquarium and then a few bluegill/sunfish, crappies, and maybe a perch. I really want to find some nice driftwood and then add plants and rocks accordingly. The MTS should have enough ferts so I won't have to add any but I am thinking of getting a better bulb or two. Maybe Glo brand?


This is what I have so far.........Can't wait to get er up and running!

I plan to start getting this project underway soon! I just gotta find some plants/driftwood first. So I'll keep updating.

Last edited by MWBradshaw; 04-28-2010 at 09:28 PM..
MWBradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2010, 02:04 AM   #2
RipariumGuy
Planted Tank Guru
 
RipariumGuy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,614
Default

I have always wanted to do a tank like this! Do you think that the tank is a litte under filtered or over stocked? I cant wait to see how it turns out.
Jake
__________________
"My next hobby is going to be tearing up $100 bills while simultaneously banging my head against a wall and flooding my basement."
"Ask not what the hobby can do for you, but what you can do the the hobby" - ScapeFu
The Jake-arium
Wabi-Kusa Pimp #3
RipariumGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 02:24 AM   #3
MWBradshaw
Algae Grower
 
MWBradshaw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: White Bear Lake, MN
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JakeJ View Post
I have always wanted to do a tank like this! Do you think that the tank is a litte under filtered or over stocked? I cant wait to see how it turns out.
Jake
I'm not sure, that was one thing I was kind of worried about. I don't know much about filtration. I got a filter recommended for my tank size but do you think I'll need a second filter? I have the room but I just wasn't sure it was necessary for this size and I wasn't going to spend the money without knowing forsure. I planned on having about 4-6 small native fish and maybe 2 crawfish.

Last edited by MWBradshaw; 03-25-2010 at 04:38 AM..
MWBradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:02 AM   #4
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 4,014
Default

If you are going to do plants, you will need to get a better light. I have the same tank, and the light fixture was just not enough. Coralife sells a 30" dual T5-NO fixture that fits the tank very well. big Al's has them
Noahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:17 AM   #5
MWBradshaw
Algae Grower
 
MWBradshaw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: White Bear Lake, MN
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noahma View Post
If you are going to do plants, you will need to get a better light. I have the same tank, and the light fixture was just not enough. Coralife sells a 30" dual T5-NO fixture that fits the tank very well. big Al's has them
Thanks for the tip!! I appreciate it, so is it pretty necessary to run dual lights for live plants to do well then?
MWBradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:28 AM   #6
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 4,014
Default

moreso the right intensity light. The fixture I have gives just enough to get all low lights, and a pretty good amount of mid light plants to grow well without any algae problems. Anything more intense and I have an algae problem lol.

I replaced the plastic top with a glass top, and then the light fixture. works great
Noahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:12 PM   #7
MWBradshaw
Algae Grower
 
MWBradshaw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: White Bear Lake, MN
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noahma View Post
moreso the right intensity light. The fixture I have gives just enough to get all low lights, and a pretty good amount of mid light plants to grow well without any algae problems. Anything more intense and I have an algae problem lol.

I replaced the plastic top with a glass top, and then the light fixture. works great
If I were able to find a 30" fixture would it fit in the place of my other one? Like if I kept the plastic top, atleast while I get this tank going? I ask because you said you have the same aquarium.
MWBradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 05:10 PM   #8
Morainy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 136
Default

Hi MWBradshaw,

I'm setting up a 36 gallon bowfront right now, too. Looks like the same tank. The light that came in the hood is only 20 Watts, regular flourescent. I like to have at least one watt per gallon, so I ordered a Coralife fixture from BigAlsOnline.ca It has 2 18 Watt T5 bulbs in it, one at 6500 K and one at 10,000 K.

I am wondering the same thing -- is it going to fit on my tank? I will let you know as soon as it arrives. If you send me a PM, I will be able to send you the information when the light arrives next week. Otherwise, I will forget which thread this is, once it has dropped off the opening page!

However, I think that some pet stores (like Petcetera) sell a double strip light fixture that is the same size as the single strip. Is your light strip removable from the hood? (Mine is, it sits on a strip of glass) If so, you might be able to get the double light strip from Petcetera. It costs less than the Coralife fixture. All of these things are much cheaper in the States, too, than in Canada.

I have an Aquaclear 70 running on my tank, but so far no tank inhabitants or plants. The Aquaclear 70 is somewhat noisy. If you find that your filtration is inadequate, you can always add a sponge filter later.

Maybe I should take some pics and start a journal, too. Thanks for the inspiration.
Morainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 08:24 PM   #9
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 4,014
Default

If you ordered this light http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS...lestriplight30

then yes, it will fit on the tank itself. The hood that comes with the tank will have to go though, the glass area for the standard light is not wide enough, and will leave dark spots inside the tank. You can get the versa top (glass) which will let you take use of the full width of the tank. Remember with the T-5 lights, the watt/gal. does not work. The lights are more efficient than the old T-8.
Noahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 11:53 PM   #10
MWBradshaw
Algae Grower
 
MWBradshaw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: White Bear Lake, MN
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noahma View Post
If you ordered this light http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS...lestriplight30

then yes, it will fit on the tank itself. The hood that comes with the tank will have to go though, the glass area for the standard light is not wide enough, and will leave dark spots inside the tank. You can get the versa top (glass) which will let you take use of the full width of the tank. Remember with the T-5 lights, the watt/gal. does not work. The lights are more efficient than the old T-8.
The only problem with glass canopies is that we have bowfront aquariums. So wouldn't those standard versa tops not fit?
MWBradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:03 AM   #11
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 4,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MWBradshaw View Post
The only problem with glass canopies is that we have bowfront aquariums. So wouldn't those standard versa tops not fit?
They make one specifically for the bow front tanks. I have one on my 36 gal.
Aqueon part number 29603 and upc code 015905296038

My LFS usually has to order them, but they had a couple of the 36 kits they sell that had one.
Noahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:45 AM   #12
MWBradshaw
Algae Grower
 
MWBradshaw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: White Bear Lake, MN
Posts: 128
Default

Yeah I was able to find some online, thanks! But shipping was like 30 bucks, rip off, so I'm going to see if I can find any locally here in MN.
MWBradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 02:56 AM   #13
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 4,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MWBradshaw View Post
Yeah I was able to find some online, thanks! But shipping was like 30 bucks, rip off, so I'm going to see if I can find any locally here in MN.
HOLY! I did not realize shipping on something like that would be that high lol the box was pretty small. I bet a LFS can get you one without that much in shipping lol.
Noahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 04:37 AM   #14
MWBradshaw
Algae Grower
 
MWBradshaw's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: White Bear Lake, MN
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noahma View Post
HOLY! I did not realize shipping on something like that would be that high lol the box was pretty small. I bet a LFS can get you one without that much in shipping lol.
Yeah I plan to go where I got the aquarium from with the part number that you gave me, I double checked it on the Aqueon website! I hope that they can order it for me, otherwise I'll be stuck paying around $60 bucks for an item that's around $30. That just doesn't seem right....
MWBradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 05:22 AM   #15
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 4,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MWBradshaw View Post
Yeah I plan to go where I got the aquarium from with the part number that you gave me, I double checked it on the Aqueon website! I hope that they can order it for me, otherwise I'll be stuck paying around $60 bucks for an item that's around $30. That just doesn't seem right....
Some LFS around your area should be able to get it. Especially if they carry other Aqueon products.
Noahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, minnesota, native fish, new tank

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012