Reviews on fluval g3/g6? - Page 11
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2011, 05:17 PM   #151
Golightly
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epitaph View Post
The specs for the G6's pump output is:
230-240V/50Hz: 2460 l/h 650 g/h
120V/60Hz: 2510 l/h -665 g/h
They also listed the approx. filter circulation (1000 l/h -265 g/h), which is what probably misleads hobbyists.
I missed this one.. are you saying that the G6 has a flow of 2460l/h (650g/h) or what we normally call flow.. and not the 1000l/h?
Golightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2011, 11:05 PM   #152
Epitaph
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (29/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golightly View Post
I missed this one.. are you saying that the G6 has a flow of 2460l/h (650g/h) or what we normally call flow.. and not the 1000l/h?
Filters list their pump output on the box (nothing attached at all), while the G6 lists the circulation rate (everything in the filter like media, baskets, etc).

Yes, the 2460l/h is what we usually call "flow".
The Eheim 2217 have a "flow" of 264 gph and the G6 have a "flow" of 650 gph.
__________________
VICTOR PIMP #53 SGT-500-40-4F-2S-DK
Epitaph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 08:50 AM   #153
Golightly
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 246
Default

Thanks! THat explains why the fish are being swirled around in a vortex.
Golightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 11:43 AM   #154
NJAquaBarren
Wannabe Guru
 
NJAquaBarren's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caall99 View Post
how did you cap it and how did you attach two spray bars to one another?
Just using the stock parts. Pop the end off of one of the tubes and use it to cap one of the Y outlets. The spray bars just pop together using the ball and socket ends.
__________________
Osaka 320L ver 2
Eheim Pimp Club member #414, 2076 Pro 3e
Fluval G6
NJAquaBarren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 03:26 PM   #155
zenche
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zenche's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJAquaBarren View Post
I have one if the legs of the "y" capped and both spraybar tubes connected to each running across the side with flow directed down about 50 degrees. Makes a nice flow across the bottom and back across the top of the tank.
damn, i didn't even think about connecting the two spray bars together to each other. gonna have to try some new arrangements this week.
zenche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:49 AM   #156
Golightly
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 246
Default

Seeing the flow is a lot higher than I expected on the G6, what's the best way of reducing it? Or distribute so it's not as strong flow?

Would lily pipes or spray bar work best? Or something else?

And has anyone tried to use a AquaMedic CO2 reactor on the G6? Is the flow too strong or?

Last edited by Golightly; 04-13-2011 at 11:16 AM.. Reason: added question.
Golightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 06:07 PM   #157
NJAquaBarren
Wannabe Guru
 
NJAquaBarren's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,426
Default

Golightly,

The lily pipe is designed to reduce velocity and draw in more volume from the surrounding water to create a larger, but less forceful flow.

Some have tried enlarging the holes in spraybars to reduce velocity. Mixed reports of success, but you never know what exactly was done. It may be worth buying a cheap spraybar and experiment before altering your original
__________________
Osaka 320L ver 2
Eheim Pimp Club member #414, 2076 Pro 3e
Fluval G6
NJAquaBarren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:25 PM   #158
monkey sausage
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 1
Default

hi to you all...

anyway been reading these threads for a while and the info given is fantastic...

i have just recieved my new tank which is a juwel rio240 and i am planning on housing a 2inch oscar by itself and hopefully raise a healthy adult fish..

the juwel comes with built in filtration and heater and i know a oscar are big messy fish so i want more filtration...i was planning to buy a fluval fx5 but realized it wouldnt fit in the cabinet so was going to get a Eheim pro3 2078....

but i saw the g6 and thought wow love the whole design and ease of cleaning...

so my question is this my new tank is about 63gal USA...is the G6 still holding up well for the poeple who have had therm running awhile and do you recommend them still....also is there such a thing has over filltering your tank,what with a G6 doing 260+gals an hour and the juwel doing 160gal per hour...sorry for the long thread and hopefully joining the G fanclub...
monkey sausage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:33 AM   #159
zenche
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zenche's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 845
Default

the only issue i have with my g6, after 2 months of use, is that the velocity of the flow is a bit too strong for my 56G column tank (only 30" long). If I had a wider tank, it probably wouldn't be an issue.
zenche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:24 AM   #160
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

I want one of these bad boys. Going to wait until the price drops.
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 12:45 PM   #161
caall99
Algae Grower
 
caall99's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Natick, MA
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to caall99
Default

Mine is noisy, the temperature reading is completely off, and the EC reading is on the order of 900-950 us/cm AFTER a water change. I have owned this filter for about 3 weeks. So far, not too happy. Hagen's customer service has been trashy.
__________________
caall99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 01:07 PM   #162
Golightly
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caall99 View Post
Mine is noisy, the temperature reading is completely off, and the EC reading is on the order of 900-950 us/cm AFTER a water change. I have owned this filter for about 3 weeks. So far, not too happy. Hagen's customer service has been trashy.
Mine was noisy too, but I noticed that it was the outflow hose that created a vibration noise.. not the filter. I fixed it by using a slightly longer hose. Problem was that I had a very short piece of hose that went from filter to my AquaMedica Reator, then to the outflow lilypipe. By making the hose slightly longer the noise disappeared.


I do also have a very high EC reading, at 600.. but that because I have very hard water, maybe you do too? You can change the limit before the alert goes off to a higher value in the menu options.
Golightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 01:31 PM   #163
caall99
Algae Grower
 
caall99's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Natick, MA
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to caall99
Default

Noise is definitely coming from the motor/impeller. It makes my whole living room hum. The EC reading is high for my gH and kH:

kH (ppm) 36
kH () 2
gH (ppm) 179
gH () 10

Temperature reading has been checked against lab grade mercury thermometer. Its reading 2-3 degrees lower than my tank really is.
__________________
caall99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 02:46 PM   #164
NJAquaBarren
Wannabe Guru
 
NJAquaBarren's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,426
Default

Mine are not silent, but are a bit quieter than my Eheim pro 3. Still quiet.

Yours is not normal, obviously. Have you tried to work with the dealer? I haven't seem any of the large manufacturers provide great support to consumers.

Also, have you tried doing the maint procedure on the pumphead? Inspect the impeller for proper seating, broken blade....any imbalance can create a disproportionate amount of vibration.
__________________
Osaka 320L ver 2
Eheim Pimp Club member #414, 2076 Pro 3e
Fluval G6
NJAquaBarren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:01 PM   #165
Epitaph
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (29/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 65
Default

It's common for digital thermometers to be off a few degrees from mercury thermometers. As long as the water is kept within range and stable there shouldn't be any problems even with the minor discrepancy.

179 ppm gH is moderately hard water and with other factors like fertilizers and water temperature, going over the 500 μS/cm range wouldn't be surprising at all for a planted aquarium. But going over 900 μS/cm after a major water change is odd. You can try testing the filter in a bucket filled with just distilled water or rainwater and see whether the conductivity meter is working properly or not.

You should definitely re-check the filter carefully like the other members advised. That degree of noise shouldn't exist. Hope everything works out for you.
__________________
VICTOR PIMP #53 SGT-500-40-4F-2S-DK
Epitaph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012