Copper levels in CSM+B?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2004, 01:28 PM   #1
Laith
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Laith's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 670
Default

Copper levels in CSM+B?


I've seen a couple of threads here where some members don't like the relatively "high" levels of copper in CSM+B.

Aside from the risk to shrimp, does this really pose a problem in a planted tank? Harmful to fish? too high for plants?

I've started using CSM+B for about 2 weeks now. I dissolved 1tbsp in 400ml of water and dose 6ml at 50% water change on my 200l and then 2ml a day. This keeps my Fe level at between 0.15 and 0.2. Does this give me high copper levels?
Laith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2004, 07:07 PM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

I have had problems dosing just Plantex CSM to keep iron levels up. Killed a couple of tanks full of shrimp. Also some plants are copper sensitive. I had copper levels of around 0.2 ppm and that's a bit high in a planted tank.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 07:15 PM   #3
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

You already probably heard me mention my shrimp dieing. I suspect the copper from CSM+B since I dosed it according to Fe. I never saw any negative affects on my plants or fish though. But If I didn't want to keep shrimp I wouldn't care about the copper and keep on dosing CSM+B as always.

If you feel the need to be safe, use an iron chelate for iron instead and CSM+B just for traces.
__________________
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copper and Algae Dwarfpufferfish Algae 8 08-12-2004 02:54 AM
Copper in my plant fertilizer! Help please! zacasonapan General Planted Tank Discussion 8 06-17-2004 12:52 PM
does frozen foods up the phosphate levels? abc Fertilizers and Water Parameters 7 06-14-2004 05:39 AM
Fertilizer in my tap water? High Nitrate Levels. bklock General Planted Tank Discussion 3 02-18-2004 03:26 AM
Raising CO2 levels? Grendel Fertilizers and Water Parameters 3 02-14-2003 01:25 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012