High Nitrates - Scratching my head
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2004, 04:31 AM   #1
ThatNewGuy
Algae Grower
 
ThatNewGuy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 145
Default

High Nitrates - Scratching my head


I have been trying to revive my 29 gal as you may know. I am waiting on more tests to come in but I have a KH, pH and Nitrate kit that I picked up local. I raised my KH to about 5 or 5.5 (doesn't completely change at 5 drops) and with the CO2 the PH runs about 6.8 to 7.0 (going down as bottle fades). The thing that is bothering me though is that the nitrate keeps turning deep red. It's hard to tell the color but it is clearly more than 80 PPM! I have been doing some small (5 to 10 gallon) water changes but it hasn't moved if anything it is getting redder. There is NO algae in my tank and the plants are starting to really take off with the CO2 and improved lighting. The fish are very normal and seem happy.

Should I wait for the Nitrates to come down naturally when new plants come and the plants grow more or should I keep doing the water changes? Am I right in thinking that maybe Phosphates are probably zero and that is stopping the algea?

BTW I tested the kit on some tap water it showed no Nitrates. I ordered GH, Phosphate, and a red sea nitrate kit but seems like they are taking forever to get here.
ThatNewGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2004, 04:48 AM   #2
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

Probably have a bad kit. If you read thread "Red Sea NO3 kit - Regent A" it was said that some kits make very high readings when they go bad. With 80ppm, there should be algea. Wait until the new kit comes to see.
__________________
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2004, 02:13 PM   #3
Laith
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Laith's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 670
Default

Or if you have a friendly LFS, ask them to test a sample of your water just to double check that your Nitrate test is ok.
Laith is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2004, 02:15 PM   #4
ThatNewGuy
Algae Grower
 
ThatNewGuy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laith
Or if you have a friendly LFS, ask them to test a sample of your water just to double check that your Nitrate test is ok.
See that's a good example of me not taking advantage of oppurtunities. Thanks for the reminder I used to take my water there all the time until the tank started running well.
ThatNewGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2004, 08:09 PM   #5
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

I'm betting you have a Aquarium Pharmaceuticals test kit. And IME they always fail high.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to raise nitrates? sharkerbaby Fertilizers and Water Parameters 12 08-31-2014 08:38 AM
Here's a great how to lorax Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium 3 06-09-2009 01:24 AM
Nitrates general1107 Fertilizers and Water Parameters 12 07-19-2004 05:23 PM
How to get high nitrates jcgd General Planted Tank Discussion 14 05-10-2004 05:57 PM
Sky high nitrates clddleopard Fertilizers and Water Parameters 11 03-09-2004 02:30 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012