Algae what to Do ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2003, 11:07 PM   #1
Fish Breeder
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Idaho
Posts: 12
Default

I have a 125 gal tank that is planted to the hilt I have florite in the bottom on the tank I am using a fluva 303 and a power head to keep the tank water moving . I have a home made Co2 system my Co2 level is
holding at 17. I am using 2 175 w M/H light that are made by GE they say that the Kalvin output is around 4000 k
but I have algae growning on my plants the lights are on for 9 hrs a day
plants are growning great but I can't get away from the algae I have 25 Blue Acaras 2 yoyo loaches 4 chinse algae eaters and 6 green corey cats . what can I do to stop the algae? Please Help :cry:
Fish Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2003, 12:53 AM   #2
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

You gotta get your tank balanced. Try to get your co2 levels up to about 25ppm.
Are you fertilizing at all? Maybe you need to.
If you haven't already done so, check your tanks nitrates and phosphate levels.
An imbalance of one nutrient over the other will limit your plants ability to compete and algae will capitalize on that. Different algaes will prosper under different conditions.
Check out the post at the top of the General section titled "all about fertilizer". That should give you a little insight as to what might be going on in your tank.
It could be a shortage of macros or micros. The only way to find out is to test.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 04:54 AM   #3
Fish Breeder
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Idaho
Posts: 12
Default

what should the nitrates and phosphate levels be in a tank so you don't get algae growning :?:
Fish Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 09:51 PM   #4
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Read the post titled "All About Fertilizer" at the top of the general section. Theres a lot of info there along with suggested levels of nutrients. A shortage or overage of micros can also start an algae attack, so pay atention to those also.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hair algae and brush algae fedge Algae 2 06-01-2004 07:08 PM
My algae problems depthC Algae 1 03-07-2004 07:07 PM
Hi from new member with algae question! diddle Algae 7 12-01-2003 09:49 PM
Algae Battle - I'm winning! GDominy Algae 2 05-23-2003 08:23 PM
Hair Algae - Nitrates & Phosphates lanstar Algae 17 12-18-2002 01:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012