The Planted Tank Forum banner

How do i eliminate this algae?

3K views 21 replies 8 participants last post by  auban 
#1 ·
Hello all, I am fairly new to planted tanks. I have been doing this since dec. and am still a noob to this. I need your help to figure out how i can rid my tank of this algae what looks to be diatoms/hair algae. I have been battling it for a month or so and cant seem to rid my tank of it. It keeps blooming back with in a week. My tank readings are ammonia 0ppm, nitrite 0ppm, nitrate 120 to 160ppm, kh is 9 degrees with co2 added at a ph of 7.1. PH without co2 is 7.5. Gh is 19 degrees. I do a 80% wc every sunday with tap water and prime as the treatment. I have eco-complete as a substrate in which i root tab with seachem root tabs. I EI dose with KNO3 at the rate of 4tsp, KH2PO4 at the rate of 1 Tsp in 9 oz of fluid. I add 3 Oz of the mixture 3 times a week with seachem flourish as my trace element at 2 capfuls 3 times also, alternating days with each. I also dose excel at the rate of 3 capfuls daily and 15 capfuls at waterchange. My tank is a 150 gallon planted fahaka puffer tank. I have a sun sun 505 with uv sterilizer with purigen in it. I also run a cascade 1200 and an aqueon 700 circ fan. Temp is maintained at 80degrees and i run an odyssea 4x54w t5ho with cool wave 6700k and redwave bulbs. I run my light 2 bulbs starting at 11 am with a midday burst of 4 bulbs from 1-3pm and then 2 bulbs from 3-8pm. 8pm-10pm is blue led's.

I don't understand why it is blooming so much, it is attaching to some of my plants in which i suck most of it off with my python at waterchange time. also the substrate too. I had to redo my plants once because it was all over everything!!! That was when i ran 4 bulbs from 10-8pm, then switched to 12-8pm. Now i am at the schedule as describe above. Can anyone help me or lead me in the direction i need to go or start to rid my tank of this Pain in my A**? Thank you.

See less See more
#4 ·
More plants.......