The Planted Tank Forum banner

Cheap Substrate??

5K views 23 replies 11 participants last post by  shift 
#1 ·
In the terms of a planted aquarium, I am a beginner. I have had aquariums for several years and also had plants. Before now it has been a o thats cheap and looks cool lets throw it in and hope it works. That is all about to change now that I have just acquired a 55 gallon tank. Enough background here is my question...

I am looking for a cheap substrate that will work and help plants flourish. Maybe some kind of combination from a store such as lowes??

I figure there are people on here that could help me out. Right now it is just a bare bottom tank and looking kinda boring. I can post pictures if people would like.

Thanks for all the help!!

#2 ·
I bought black diamond blasting media at Tractor Supply. Right now I'm not using any ferts cause I'm just getting started. Just dosing excel. Root tabs will be easy to add, but the black diamond is inert, so it won't hld the ferts like flourite or eco complete or one of those would. I used about 3/4 of a bag to do my 29G and it was eight bucks. You'd need two bags. You could always do half black diamond and half of the flourite black sand. They sell the flurite and eco comlete at Aquarium Outfitters in Athens. Just go in and ask for Chelsea or Daniel. They know their stuff.

#3 ·
Yea Chelsea and Daniel are awesome, they have helped me with all my questions and more. If your tank grows too fast and you need to part with some fish or plants let me know. I'm just getting my 55 gallon up and running so it is a little/alot bare. It is tough in grad school trying to save money (reality check) survive on this kind of "pay". I am new here to athens but love it so far GO DAWGS!

#11 ·
The process of planting is not messy at all.
Like I told you before, take the water out, 3/4 - 1" of MGOPM and 1" front and 2-3" Black Diamond B sand slope to the back on top.