The Planted Tank Forum banner

Noob water parameters

2K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  Wasserpest 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I'm not trying to bore anyone with repeated questions but I'm just starting out and only have petco and petsmart's around where I live. I did a lot of searching and still am not sure about my readings. So I testing everything in my tank today and found.

PH-7.0
Ammonia-0/low
Nitrite-0/low
Nitrate-0/low
KH-9
Gh-13

I think I have a moderately high light 50 gallon tank with 44 3w 6500K leds (greenelement evo 36" and 30")and a 5m roll of 5050 rgb leds I put in a hood for accent lighting. I dose co2 at about 2 bps to achieve 40 ppm (2 drop checkers in the tank). I have tannins (drift wood in the water and do weekly 30-40% water changes and dose excel, flourish, and trace elements to bottle specs. I have 1 oscar, 7 otos, a clown loach, 1 sae, and 2 tiger barbs(I know its a circus lol). The tank has been established for a while now. Based on the nitrogen readings Im going to also start dosing nitrogen (stump remover) and possibly iron, phosphorous, and potassium.

So far most of my plants seem to be thriving such as some ludwigs, combomba aquatica, and jungle vallisneria. By thriving I mean these plants have gone from cuttings to ludwig has put out many new leaves and tons of root shoots, Combomba has grown from 6 to 12 inches, and vallisneria is nice and green. These plants have been growing for about a month now. I recently picked up some cupped (In gel) dwarf baby tears (I know they are hard to grow) about half of the dwarf baby tears has melted but the other half of each group that I tied to rocks looks green and is sending out roots.