The Planted Tank Forum banner

6g shrimp tank

3K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  assasin6547 
#1 ·
So this is my first time posting a journal. Ive been lurking around on this site for months. Purchased some plants off of different members. Im starting a new tank and im still pretty new to the hobby so any iinput would be great. I got a 6 gallon tank from gla for xmas so its time to get it going.

Tank GLA 36-L
Light Finnex 26w clip on light
Substrate. Amazonia
Filter undecided
Paintball co2 haven't picked out regulator yet
EI dosing

Flora
Plants are probably gonna be HC, possibly blxa and looking for other ideas.

Fauna
Fire reds. If all goes well maybe get into so more expensive shrimp.

First things first. I just got the amazonia in today so im trying to work on the scape. I have been moving things around and have a few ideas. Any input would be great. Im having a hard time deciding. Im going with dsm method so I still have to order the rest of the hardware I need.
Brown Wood Brick Plant Rectangle

Brown Wood Plant Brick Arthropod

Plant Branch Wood Twig Sculpture

Plant Wood Houseplant Bonsai World

Wood Rectangle Flooring Floor Brickwork

See less See more
#4 ·
Agreed with Mabj last second is good, I would plant just Hc and plant blyxa behind the tree n plant some next to the rock, i would not plant more blyxa at all, leave it simple n it will look really good. If you want , try HC with dry start method n let it fully carpet n then flood it with water n plant blyxa.. I would just add a lil bit of moss in the tree but would not cover it..maje tree with a lil moss looks better than fully covered..planting blyxa just in those location will give a bit more prespective.. if you plant heaps of stem plants n blyxa at the back, then when your tank is fully grown it would loose the scape..sometime it's better to keep it simple..just my 2cents , I m no pro so if an experience member give you shine more thought then try that as well