The Planted Tank Forum banner

Setting up a 10 Gallon Hex?

3K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  chinachilla 
#1 ·
As is... Readily apparent by my complete lack of posts, I am fairly new to planted tanks. I had a standard ten gallon a few years ago (Two 15 watt incandescent lights and playing by ear) , and fiddling around, I managed to keep anubias, anacharis, and java moss alive.

Well, I was just lucky enough to snag what I assume is a ten gallon hex tank from a friend. It's 18" tall (Not including hood), and each side of the hex is about 7". All of the "accessories" came included.
-"All-Glass Aquarium" 12" Fluorescent Aquarium Hood Reflector (120 volt, 20 watt, 60 hz)
-"All-Glass Aquarium" 8 watt bulb (no other info on it)
-Marineland Filter (Has biowheel. Old biowheel measured 2". I have no idea what model this is.)
-"Stealth" Heater 120 volt, 60 hz (This is all it says)

The tank is apparently about four years old, but everything appears to be working through my test run tonight. (I know, I'll have to get a new bulb, a new biowheel, and new filters at least.)

Because this is my first time having a tank with fluorescent lighting, I was REALLY excited at the idea of doing plants "Right". But... The biggest this thing can fit is the 12" fixture it comes with. The highest wattage I can find is an 8 watt, and skimming around online suggested around 2-3 watts per gallon... Not gunna be possible with what I have available, apparently.

I had gotten all excited with the idea of a moss wall (I've assembled them with friends, but never grown them myself), as well as anubias on driftwood again, and, if possible, I was REALLY hoping to get a carpet of ground cover of some sort. I know its not a big tank, but its got to hold a single betta (maybe shrimp and snails, if I trust my betta and have enough hiding spots), so I think that'll be okay...

But is that just delusions of grandeur? I really don't want to have additional hoods or lights focused on the tank.