The Planted Tank Forum banner

Overcrowded, unruly or OH YEAH!

5K views 36 replies 22 participants last post by  DBridges 
#1 · (Edited)
This is my first attempt at a planted tank and it looks nothing like my inspiration. It's supposed to be a forest with a creek running through it.

I like the tank but after looking at others online, it looks overcrowded, unmanicured and unruly.

Would you change anything and if so, what?

#4 ·
When was the last time you saw a forest that was all prim and proper and tidy? I also tend to go for the jungle look in my tanks, and never really liked the false creek look in a planted tank.

I would probably just fill in that hole that lets you see the back of the tank, and let the groundcover take over.

#6 ·
I like it, everyone has their own preference. If you like it, all it matters. I bet you, the one says he hates the look, you wouldn't like his tank because it's opposite from what you envision. I know I will not like his scape, because I like a creek path look.

#10 ·
If at all possible, change the mid level plants. you have amazing growth and the plant in the middle takes the focus away and kinda overrides the background plants. May be a slow growing plant in the middle and move the current one little back?

the moss thing on the right could be a little lower than on the water surface. Apart from that, the tank looks great.

#11 ·
Thank you for all the replies.

This is my first attempt at a planted tank. I wanted a creek and was going to use blue and gray gravel for the water but everyone said it wouldn't look right, use sand. So now it really looks more like a path than a creek.

The messy Moss on the right is the "leaves" on the tree. It was very compact and pretty but my BML light quit working after 3 days so I had no light for almost 2 weeks. When I finally got a replacement, this is what the Moss looked like. I'm working on getting it compact and neat again but I really don't know what I'm doing so it's a hit and miss thing!