Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor - Page 52
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2014, 07:22 AM   #766
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsantucci View Post
I tried and failed miserably at this tonight. Question for you all, is a fluval 406 strong enough to run with a cerges reactor? I bought this as the housing. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

When I hooked it all up there was very little flow coming from my return to the tank. 1/2" pvc is what fits the inside of the housing.

So did I do something wrong or is the fluval 406 just not enough to run this? Nothing fancy for the hookups, just two brass barb fittings with the filter hoses on them and one tee on the input line to run the co2.

I use a fluval 405 to run my reactor, works great when for its good, once the filter clogges up then diffusion isn't as great, but I have no complaints. The only difference I do is run a 3/4" PVC in my housing. Got mine at HD or Lowes. Might just be to small of a pipe, reason for the lower flow rates. The more 90' bends you have in your pipe the less floor you will receive in the end. Or the opening to the housing from the inflow might be too narrow. Just a thought. Good luck to ya!

Bump:
Quote:
Originally Posted by theknight View Post
Just a quick question, those with DIY water filter cerges, what pressure do you set your CO2 regulator output?

Got mine set at 25psi. Just my preference.

Bump:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsantucci View Post
Those using the home depot GE SmartWater housing, what size PVC did you use for the inside? I got a 1" piece and it slides in, but I don't feel it's tight enough to not fall out. Is there a coupler than can take up the extra millimeter or so or did you just use an aquarium safe epoxy?
I believe the one I have in there is 3/4", I may be wrong, it's been years since I set it up. I was able to get it to slide in the outflow hole without glue or anything else. But in a bind, PVC glue, just know it will not ever come off after that, not the you would need to.
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2014, 12:46 PM   #767
bsantucci
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sketch804 View Post
I use a fluval 405 to run my reactor, works great when for its good, once the filter clogges up then diffusion isn't as great, but I have no complaints. The only difference I do is run a 3/4" PVC in my housing. Got mine at HD or Lowes. Might just be to small of a pipe, reason for the lower flow rates. The more 90' bends you have in your pipe the less floor you will receive in the end. Or the opening to the housing from the inflow might be too narrow. Just a thought. Good luck to ya!

Bump:


Got mine set at 25psi. Just my preference.

Bump:

I believe the one I have in there is 3/4", I may be wrong, it's been years since I set it up. I was able to get it to slide in the outflow hole without glue or anything else. But in a bind, PVC glue, just know it will not ever come off after that, not the you would need to.
Thanks for the reply. 3/4 was too small, but 1 inch was a tad big. I took my heat gun last night and just heated the PVC and rolled the sides inward. This gave me a nice tight seal. I'll be hooking it up tonight. I'm hoping to run a lower PSI than 25 though, I thought you can run much lower with these than in-line diffusers? I'll have to play with mine a bit once running.

I don't have any elbows or bends, straight shots through the unit. I think my problem was the 1/2" pipe originally plus the barbs I used went down to 5/8. I'm going with 3/4 barbs this time, make sure I have no restriction.
__________________
bsantucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 03:35 AM   #768
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsantucci View Post
Thanks for the reply. 3/4 was too small, but 1 inch was a tad big. I took my heat gun last night and just heated the PVC and rolled the sides inward. This gave me a nice tight seal. I'll be hooking it up tonight. I'm hoping to run a lower PSI than 25 though, I thought you can run much lower with these than in-line diffusers? I'll have to play with mine a bit once running.

I don't have any elbows or bends, straight shots through the unit. I think my problem was the 1/2" pipe originally plus the barbs I used went down to 5/8. I'm going with 3/4 barbs this time, make sure I have no restriction.
Maybe it was 5/8" it's been to long since I did that, but your idea works good also, done that a few times on other aquariums. Also forgot to say, I have no sponges or anything in my reactor so the flow can reach max.
Now for psi, can't really explain it but I just use 25 because I seem to have less back pressure pushing against the co2, even with 2 check valves. The number to isn't as important as how well it diffuses. Hope it works out well!
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012