The Planted Tank Forum banner

Asian, South American, African? Biotope Choices.

4K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  RipariumGuy 
#1 ·
So to start let me say that its Friday, no one is doing anything in the office, and I'm bored. I've spent the morning pondering what i will do with my next tank when I move into my new house at the end of.august. so far what I have is a 55g(48x12x21), stand, fluvial 305, 2x48" t5no light fixture mounted in plastic gutter with end caps(I'm pretty proud of how it came out) and way too much free time at work to think about what to put in it. The only thing I'm set on is no co2. I'm willing to dose ferts, excel,whatever. I'm new to the hobby, but I've been reading this forum constantly for about 2 months and currently have 2 small healthy tanks running. Both are sadly overrun with pond snails but my fish are active, eat a varied diet, and seem as happy as fish can seem. I seem to be adequate at caring for low light plants( nothing to be proud of LOL) but I feel like my next tank should be a step up in difficulty from anubias, Amazon swords, Java moss and wisteria(which I'm convinced is a voracious weed).
So here are a few ideas I have been kicking around. They are very broad and I could use some suggestions/guidance/advice/conversation(LOL).

South American
Angels
Pair dwarf cichlid
Corys
Small school hatchets
Small school tetra(big enough to avoid being small school angel food)

Asian
6+ Dwarf chainn loach
4 dwarf gourami
Med school CPD
????(need suggestions a for another species)

African
I pretty much have no idea what's going on when it comes to African cichlids. Its kind of mind boggling to me to overstock to avoid aggression. If anyone could suggest possible setups for these guys or experience with keeping them it would be greatly appreciated(I understand it is a broad category, with drastic differeneces between lake habitats and fish behavior.)