Fugeray + HC. Will is work?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 11:35 PM   #1
Conrad283
Planted Member
 
Conrad283's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Naples, Fl
Posts: 249
Default

Fugeray + HC. Will is work?


I'm planning on a 10 gallon tank with roughly 1.5-2 inches of substrate at it's lowest point (I plan on making, slopes/peaks, so in some areas, the HC will be way less than 12" from the light)

The light sits 2 inches above the tank and with two inches of substrate meaning the entire system will be <12" from the light. The tank is 10.5" wide and the light is 2.75" wide, meaning 7.75" of tank that's not covered by the light, or ~3.8" on each side.

PAR for those numbers are approximately low 30's at the minimum and probably around 50 directly under the light. Will this work for HC?

Thanks,
Andrew
Conrad283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2013, 12:31 AM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (432/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,472
Default

The PAR data from Finnex is a bit off, in my opinion.

I use the 20" Fugeray on my 10gal and have to use three layers of window screen in order to achieve low light. Without window screen, I'm confident I'd need CO2, ferts and such. So you'll definitely be able to grow anything you want.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:33 AM   #3
madness
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
The PAR data from Finnex is a bit off, in my opinion.

I use the 20" Fugeray on my 10gal and have to use three layers of window screen in order to achieve low light. Without window screen, I'm confident I'd need CO2, ferts and such. So you'll definitely be able to grow anything you want.
You are implying that the there is more light intensity than advertised?

Am I understanding you correctly?
madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:41 AM   #4
Conrad283
Planted Member
 
Conrad283's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Naples, Fl
Posts: 249
Default

If that's true, than that's good news because I was planning on using a Fugeray 30" on a 20L in the near future.
Conrad283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:10 AM   #5
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,816
Default

I did a quick test on one Finnex light a couple of months ago, at our local aquatic plant club meeting. The PAR readings I got were completely consistent with the charts in http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=189944
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:07 AM   #6
Couesfanatic
Wannabe Guru
 
Couesfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (30/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,763
Default

Lowe did say that it was tested with no water. I did read somewhere that they can be 20% lower than with water.
__________________
Couesfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:25 PM   #7
Conrad283
Planted Member
 
Conrad283's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Naples, Fl
Posts: 249
Default

That's right, I did read that too ...
Conrad283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:39 PM   #8
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (432/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,472
Default

In my experience with a few different Finnex fixtures, the lighting is a bit more powerful than advertised.

The Fugeray is more than strong enough on a 10gal to grow what you want.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:42 AM   #9
Kudaria
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chesapeake Virginia, US
Posts: 189
Default

Anyone have one of those new apogee (sp?) aquarium PAR meters with the submurgeable sensor to test whether or not there is a difference between light and water for comparison?

If so it probably would affect quite a few of the PAR values advertised and make the high light fixtures even more high light.
Kudaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012