The Planted Tank Forum banner

Low tech community 10 gallon

1K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  hestersu 
#1 ·
Hey all! Great forum! I'm back into fish keeping after a 40 year hiatus. I figure I'm a noob again. Things have sure changed!

While cleaning out a rent house, I found a 10 gallon tank. It had a heater, some kind of gravel and a few rocks. I tossed the gravel and rocks and cleaned up the tank and heater. I'm not sure the heater works so it's in my spare parts bin.

I bought an Aqueon Pro heater and an Aqueon quietflow 10 filter, some new gravel and a few plants and started cycling. Whatever gravel I bought was terrible. I should have known better but was determined to make the best of it. I used Seachem Prime and Stability to get started. The plants are Anachris, Lotus, Anubias, Java Fern and one that I'm not sure about ( has large curly leaves). The lighting is a USA Current LED Satellite with a Dual Ramp timer. Lighting is 12 hours a day.

After 3 to 4 weeks of cycling and testing, I bought 2 white mollies. They did wonderful. After another 4 weeks, I bought 6 Harlequin Rasbora and a Clown Loach. I had an outbreak of Malaysian snails. The Loach went to work. I added 2 Otocinclus a week later. One Oto died for unknown reasons after a week. Everyone else seems healthy and active.

I couldn't stand the gravel so I took it out and replaced with 2-3mm gravel from Petco. Cleaned and boiled it. Removed the plants and cleaned everything out and put in the new.

The tank is pretty stable. I have had a small problem with an ammonia / nitrite spike but it appears to be leveling off. I've been doing 20% water changes every other day. I'm feeding Tetra flake food for everyone with peas every Saturday. They get bloodworms a couple of times a week. The Loach gets a wafer ever few days.

I added a Tetra Whisper 10 air pump and air stone and that has really cleared my water and added just a little more movement to the water. The fish seem to like it.